Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Waiting for the Monsoon by Rod Nordland

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Waiting for the Monsoon

by Rod Nordland

Waiting for the Monsoon by Rod Nordland X
Waiting for the Monsoon by Rod Nordland
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Mar 2024, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A foreign correspondent, diagnosed with terminal brain cancer, looks back at a remarkable life of overcoming adversity and reporting from war zones.

The title of Rod Nordland's autobiography could be a metaphor for the death he knows is coming for him after a stage 4 glioblastoma diagnosis, or for any of the many crises he has faced in his eventful life as a foreign correspondent for the Philadelphia Inquirer, Newsweek, and the New York Times. But it's also literal: in July 2019, he was reporting in India just before its rainy season began. A bystander found him suffering from a grand mal seizure and hailed an ambulance. At the hospital, doctors discovered a brain tumor and he was medevacked to New York City's Weill Cornell Medical Center for surgery, which took place on his 70th birthday. Afterwards, his surgeon was frank, telling Nordland he might get 15 more months, but that brain cancer would kill him eventually. "Waiting for the Monsoon" was the title he gave to the journal, and then the New York Times article, he wrote about ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Terminal Illness Memoirs

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Waiting for the Monsoon, try these:

  • Educated jacket

    Educated

    by Tara Westover

    Published 2022

    About this book

    Winner of the 2018 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University.

  • The Unwinding of the Miracle jacket

    The Unwinding of the Miracle

    by Julie Yip-Williams

    Published 2020

    About this book

    As a young mother facing a terminal diagnosis, Julie Yip-Williams began to write her story, a story like no other. What began as the chronicle of an imminent and early death became something much more - a powerful exhortation to the living.

We have 4 read-alikes for Waiting for the Monsoon, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bitter Crop
    Bitter Crop
    by Paul Alexander
    In 1958, Billie Holiday began work on an ambitious album called Lady in Satin. Accompanied by a full...
  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.