Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Last Bloodcarver by Vanessa Le

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Bloodcarver

(The Last Bloodcarver Duology, Book 1)

by Vanessa Le

The Last Bloodcarver by Vanessa Le X
The Last Bloodcarver by Vanessa Le
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Mar 2024, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo-Anne Blanco
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A Vietnamese-inspired steampunk thriller, this first book in a YA duology immerses the reader in an exciting, complex world combining ancient magic with modern science.

The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the use of automatons is commonplace and modern medicine is seemingly developing at a rapid rate. However, alongside the opulent wealth and industrialists exists another Theumas of impoverished boroughs, black market trading, and violent crime. In this indigent part of the city, 18-year-old Nhika scrapes a living under the radar as a homeopathic healer, called upon in secret when even Theumas' highly advanced medicine fails to cure the ill and dying.

But Nhika's on-the-surface talent for homeopathic remedies is a disguise for her true ability. For she is what is known in Theumas as a bloodcarver: a magical being who can alter human biology with just a touch, for good or bad; someone who can heal the sick or wound fatally if they so wish. Bloodcarvers are not native to Theumas. They are ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Last Bloodcarver, try these:

  • Blood Like Magic jacket

    Blood Like Magic

    by Liselle Sambury

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A rich, dark urban fantasy debut following a teen witch who is given a horrifying task: sacrificing her first love to save her family's magic. The problem is, she's never been in love - she'll have to find the perfect guy before she can kill him.

  • The Gilded Ones jacket

    The Gilded Ones

    by Namina Forna

    Published 2022

    About this book

    The most anticipated fantasy of 2021. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. Get ready for battle.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Last Bloodcarver, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.