Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Our Moon by Rebecca Boyle

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Our Moon

How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us Who We Are

by Rebecca Boyle

Our Moon by Rebecca Boyle X
Our Moon by Rebecca Boyle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 2024, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Christine Runyon
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Blast off with Rebecca Boyle for a thoughtful history of Earth's relationship with the Moon.

In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us Who We Are, author Rebecca Boyle explains how Earth's closest neighbor is essential to our history. Reliable and mythical, epic in size and significance, the Moon has been profoundly influential since the beginning. According to Boyle's extensive research, we would not be here without it. 

She begins by recounting theories of the Moon's creation, all involving a collision of some kind with Earth, and how it shaped our planet with its tides, with its light and lack of light. She explains how the earliest terrestrials used it to navigate at night and to time their reproductive cycles. As our planet evolved, countless species learned to "sync their mating, feeding, and spawning schedules with the phases of the Moon." Coral reproduction is entirely dependent on the full Moon each month....

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Moon Art

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Our Moon, try these:

  • The Blue Machine jacket

    The Blue Machine

    by Helen Czerski

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A scientist's exploration of the "ocean engine"—the physics behind the ocean's systems—and why it matters.

  • Alien Earths jacket

    Alien Earths

    by Lisa Kaltenegger

    Published 2024

    About this book

    Riveting and timely, a look at the research that is transforming our understanding of the cosmos in the quest to discover whether we are alone.

We have 4 read-alikes for Our Moon, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.