Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Wild and Distant Seas by Tara Karr Roberts

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wild and Distant Seas

A Novel

by Tara Karr Roberts

Wild and Distant Seas by Tara Karr Roberts X
Wild and Distant Seas by Tara Karr Roberts
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jan 2024, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A sweeping historical novel spanning continents that connects four generations of women to the events of Herman Melville's Moby-Dick.

Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant Seas, her first novel, won over our First Impressions reviewers, receiving 4 or 5 stars from 21 out of 23 readers.

What the book is about:

Call me a sucker for a reimagining or retelling of a classic tale, but I enjoyed this homage to Moby-Dick. Told in five parts by the matrilineal descendants of the famous narrator, Ishmael, the story almost feels like four individual novellas that are satisfyingly woven together at the end (Nicole G). Wild and Distant Seas reads like a fairy tale told through four generations of gifted women who can manipulate minds, envision the experiences of the people they touch, and retrace paths long gone. These "special senses" lead main characters Evangeline, Rachel, Mara, and Antonia to make decisions that take them on unexpected journeys (Giovanna I). ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  A Moby-Dick Reading List

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Wild and Distant Seas, try these:

  • Julia jacket

    Julia

    by Sandra Newman

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    An imaginative, feminist, and brilliantly relevant-to-today retelling of Orwell's 1984, from the point of view of Winston Smith's lover, Julia, by critically acclaimed novelist Sandra Newman.

  • Dayswork jacket

    Dayswork

    by Chris Bachelder, Jennifer Habel

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    A startlingly original, incantatory novel about marriage, mortality, and making art.

We have 5 read-alikes for Wild and Distant Seas, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.