Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Frozen River by Ariel Lawhon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Frozen River

A Novel

by Ariel Lawhon

The Frozen River by Ariel Lawhon X
The Frozen River by Ariel Lawhon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Dec 2023, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Maria Katsulos
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Thrust into a legal battle concerning sexual assault and murder, midwife Martha Ballard must fight for her friends and family, while continuing her life-saving vocation.

"I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been doing so for years on end? Or maybe – if I am being honest – it is because these markings of ink and paper will one day be the only proof that I have existed in this world. That I lived and breathed."

So run the thoughts of one Martha Moore Ballard after finishing her daily log in the small journal that is her constant companion throughout The Frozen River. Beyond the incredibly important role the diary plays in the novel – several keys to the mysteries that unfold throughout the story are held within its pages – Martha's notebook outlived her, and remains a key source for learning about early American history. Although The Frozen River is a novel, the protagonist is a fictionalized version of the real-life Martha Ballard whose diary informs the Pulitzer Prize-...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Midwifery in Colonial America

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Frozen River, try these:

  • Love and Fury jacket

    Love and Fury

    by Samantha Silva

    Published 2022

    About this book

    From the acclaimed author of Mr. Dickens and His Carol, a richly-imagined reckoning with the life of another cherished literary legend: Mary Wollstonecraft – arguably the world's first feminist.

  • The Lost Apothecary jacket

    The Lost Apothecary

    by Sarah Penner

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A forgotten history. A secret network of women. A legacy of poison and revenge. Welcome to The Lost Apothecary.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Frozen River, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Ariel Lawhon
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.