Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years by Shubnum Khan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years

A Novel

by Shubnum Khan

The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years by Shubnum Khan X
The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years by Shubnum Khan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jan 2024, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo-Anne Blanco
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An evocative, poignant, captivating story of a young girl who discovers the secrets of an old house and the djinn who haunts it.

Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by the sea is in mourning following an unexplained violent event, at once engaging the reader and setting the stage for an intriguing mystery to be unraveled. We then fast-forward to Durban, South Africa, in 2014, during the hottest Christmas anyone can remember. Fifteen-year-old Sana Malek moves with her father, Bilal, to a crumbling house called Akbar Manzil, a once-grand mansion that lay abandoned for years before being converted into apartments. We learn that Sana's mother died four years earlier and Bilal, still grieving, is eager to make a fresh start for himself and his daughter.

However, there is something eerie about the house that cannot be attributed to the frequent power failures, unreliable water supply, and rising damp. Previous tenants have moved in and out, complaining that ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years, try these:

  • The Earthspinner jacket

    The Earthspinner

    by Anuradha Roy

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the critically acclaimed, Booker Prize-nominated author of Sleeping on Jupiter and All the Lives We Never Lived, an incisive and moving novel about the struggle for creative achievement in a world consumed by growing fanaticism and political upheaval.

  • Seeking Fortune Elsewhere jacket

    Seeking Fortune Elsewhere

    by Sindya Bhanoo

    Published 2023

    About this book

    These intimate stories of South Indian immigrants and the families they left behind center women's lives and ask how women both claim and surrender power - a stunning debut collection from an O. Henry Prize winner.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.