We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Women by Kristin Hannah

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Women

A Novel

by Kristin Hannah

The Women by Kristin Hannah X
The Women by Kristin Hannah
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Feb 2024, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jordan Lynch
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Kristin Hannah's latest historical novel tells the story of one young woman's experiences as a nurse in the Vietnam War and her post-service struggle to return to a normal life.

Kristin Hannah's latest historical epic, The Women, is a story of how a war shaped a generation and a tribute to all the women who served in the Vietnam War. Hannah tells the story of Frances "Frankie" McGrath, who, at the age of 20 in 1966, joins the Army Nurse Corps, inspired by a family friend's assertion that women can be heroes, too. After a hopeful, patriotic start, readers are thrown right into the action—bloody uniforms, gaping chest wounds, dying men screaming for their mothers as bombs fall overhead—allowing them to empathize with Frankie's chaotic entry into combat nursing. As soon as Frankie arrives in the war zone, she is repeatedly sent to take care of men suffering from some of the worst injuries imaginable. Although she's wildly unprepared, Frankie does what she can, knowing that even if her nursing skills can't save a man, ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Vietnam Women's Memorial

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Women, try these:

  • Banyan Moon jacket

    Banyan Moon

    by Thao Thai

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A sweeping, evocative debut novel following three generations of Vietnamese American women reeling from the death of their matriarch, revealing the family's inherited burdens, buried secrets, and unlikely love stories.

  • The White Lady jacket

    The White Lady

    by Jacqueline Winspear

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    The White Lady introduces yet another extraordinary heroine from Jacqueline Winspear, creator of the best-selling Maisie Dobbs series. This heart-stopping novel, set in Post WWII Britain in 1947, follows the coming of age and maturity of former wartime operative Elinor White—veteran of two wars, trained killer, protective of her anonymity&#...

We have 5 read-alikes for The Women, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Kristin Hannah
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.