We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews What the Taliban Told Me by Ian Fritz

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

What the Taliban Told Me

by Ian Fritz

What the Taliban Told Me by Ian Fritz X
What the Taliban Told Me by Ian Fritz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Nov 2023, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Peggy Kurkowski
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A potent, timely memoir of an Air Force linguist deployed to Afghanistan reveals the psychological havoc and devastating impacts of an unwinnable war.

At eighteen, writer Ian Fritz escaped his aimless life in a trailer park in Lake City, Florida, by enlisting in the Air Force to become an airborne cryptologic linguist. In his memoir What the Taliban Told Me, Fritz reflects on his evolution from a brash linguistics upstart to a broken young man realizing the human consequences of his knowledge and training.

Beginning with his high school years, when he spent his days working at a Chinese restaurant to pay his mother's neglected bills, Fritz pinpoints the one constant in this chaotic period: his love of languages and his plans to study philology in college. But his admittedly lazy and indifferent nature in high school resulted in lackluster grades and college application rejections. Recalling an Air Force recruiter in his tenth-grade class mentioning that as an airborne linguist "you got a fat signing bonus, the Air Force ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  What Is Moral Injury?

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked What the Taliban Told Me, try these:

  • All the Ruined Men jacket

    All the Ruined Men

    by Bill Glose

    Published 2022

    About this book

    For readers of Phil Klay, Kevin Powers, and Tim O'Brien: Dramatic, powerful, authentic short stories of soldiers fighting a "forever war," in combat and back home.

  • Consequence jacket

    Consequence

    by Eric Fair

    Published 2017

    About this book

    A man questions everything - his faith, his morality, his country - as he recounts his experience as an interrogator in Iraq; an unprecedented memoir and "an act of incredible bravery." (Phil Klay)

Read-Alikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.