We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Land of Milk and Honey by C Pam Zhang

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Land of Milk and Honey

A Novel

by C Pam Zhang

Land of Milk and Honey by C Pam Zhang X
Land of Milk and Honey by C Pam Zhang
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Sep 2023, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elisabeth Cook
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A surprisingly optimistic vision of an apocalyptic future that centers on the unpredictable nature of pleasure.

In Land of Milk and Honey, C Pam Zhang's second novel, Earth is covered by a vast gray smog. Many of the planet's plants and animals, and therefore foodstuffs, are disappearing: "No more nuts and seeds in the pantry, and no basil, not even the powdered kind." The unnamed narrator, a 29-year-old American professional chef who finds herself stuck in England after the United States' borders are abruptly closed, attempts to cope with these losses by taking a job for a wealthy employer who provides her with an extremely well-stocked pantry and the chance to experience sunlight again from the altitude of an isolated Italian mountain. Her role, murky at first, is at least partly to create lavish dishes to woo potential investors for research that seems broadly concerned with preserving and maintaining natural resources, including flora and fauna believed to be extinct elsewhere.

Despite her ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Jian Bing

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Land of Milk and Honey, try these:

  • Sea of Tranquility jacket

    Sea of Tranquility

    by Emily St. John Mandel

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    The award-winning, best-selling author of Station Eleven and The Glass Hotel returns with a novel of art, time, love, and plague that takes the reader from Vancouver Island in 1912 to a dark colony on the moon five hundred years later, unfurling a story of humanity across centuries and space.

  • Harrow jacket

    Harrow

    by Joy Williams

    Published 2022

    About this book

    More by this author

    In her first novel since The Quick and the Dead (a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize), the legendary writer takes us into an uncertain landscape after an environmental apocalypse, a world in which only the man-made has value, but some still wish to salvage the authentic.

We have 5 read-alikes for Land of Milk and Honey, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by C Pam Zhang
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.