Holiday Sale! Save 20% on a BookBrowse membership - for yourself or to give as a gift.

BookBrowse Reviews Beyond the Door of No Return by David Diop

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beyond the Door of No Return

A Novel

by David Diop

Beyond the Door of No Return by David Diop X
Beyond the Door of No Return by David Diop
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Sep 2023, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Katharine Blatchford
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The poignant story, set in 18th-century Senegal, of a man's search for the truth about a mysterious woman who escaped slavery.

In early 19th-century France, Aglaé's father Michel Adanson dies of old age. Sitting at his bedside, she hears his last word—a name she doesn't know. While going through his possessions, she finds a hidden drawer concealing a journal addressed to her. The journal tells a story from Michel's time in Senegal half a century before.

A botanist, Michel travels to Africa in order to study the native plants, with the goals of collecting specimens to bring back to France and determining ways in which the French might profit from them. While there, he hears a story about a Wolof woman named Maram, who had been sold into slavery but escaped. Michel finds the story so intriguing that he decides to take his young guide Ndiak and a few guards on a journey along the coast to the town where she is rumored to live in the hopes of determining the truth of the tale.

David ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Beyond the Door of No Return, try these:

  • The Fraud jacket

    The Fraud

    by Zadie Smith

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From acclaimed and bestselling novelist Zadie Smith, a kaleidoscopic work of historical fiction set against the legal trial that divided Victorian England, about who gets to tell their story—and who gets to be believed

  • Loot jacket

    Loot

    by Tania James

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    A spellbinding historical novel set in the eighteenth century: a hero's quest, a love story, the story of a young artist coming of age, and an exuberant heist adventure that traces the bloody legacy of colonialism across two continents and fifty years. A wildly inventive, irresistible feat of storytelling from a writer at the height of her powers.

We have 5 read-alikes for Beyond the Door of No Return, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by David Diop
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Holiday Sale!

Discover exceptional books
for just $3/month.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: The Covenant of Water
    The Covenant of Water
    by Abraham Verghese
    BookBrowse Fiction Award 2023

    Along the Malabar Coast of South India in 1900, a 12-year-old girl ...
  • Book Jacket: In Memoriam
    In Memoriam
    by Alice Winn
    BookBrowse Debut Book Award 2023

    Alice Winn's remarkable debut, In Memoriam, opens in 1914 at ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wager
    The Wager
    by David Grann
    BookBrowse Nonfiction Award 2023

    David Grann is a journalist, a staff writer for The New Yorker and...
  • Book Jacket: Remember Us
    Remember Us
    by Jacqueline Woodson
    BookBrowse YA Book Award 2023

    Remember Us is set largely across a single hazy summer of the 1970s in...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Julia
by Sandra Newman
From critically acclaimed novelist Sandra Newman, a brilliantly relevant retelling of Orwell's 1984 from the point of Smith's lover, Julia.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Above the Salt
    by Katherine Vaz

    A sweeping love story that follows two Portugueses refugees who flee religious violence to build new lives in Civil-War America.

  • Book Jacket

    The Witches at the End of the World
    by Chelsea Iversen

    Two sisters find themselves at odds in this historical fantasy set during a dark Norwegian winter.

Who Said...

Talent hits a target no one else can hit; Genius hits a target no one else can see.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.