BookBrowse Reviews The Lost Wife by Susanna Moore

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lost Wife

A novel

by Susanna Moore

The Lost Wife by Susanna Moore X
The Lost Wife by Susanna Moore
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Apr 2023, 192 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Susanna Moore's vivid, powerful eighth novel is inspired by the true story of a white settler caught up in the U.S.-Dakota War of 1862.

The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's memoir Six Weeks in the Sioux Tepees: A Narrative of Indian Captivity. In Susanna Moore's version of Wakefield's story, which opens in 1855, Sarah is a 25-year-old wife and mother who leaves her baby daughter, Florence, behind when she flees her abusive husband. She travels from Rhode Island to Minnesota Territory (encompassing present-day Minnesota and much of the Dakotas), where she hopes to meet up with an old friend and start a new life. Telling no one about her past, she marries Dr. John Brinton. The story then jumps forward to 1862, when Brinton is the doctor on a Sioux reservation and they have two children, four-year-old James and two-year-old Anne.

Although the Civil War is unfolding in the background, the greater threat in the territory is of a revolt by the Indigenous residents....

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The U.S. Dakota War of 1862

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Lost Wife, try these:

  • A Dangerous Business jacket

    A Dangerous Business

    by Jane Smiley

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the beloved Pulitzer Prize-winning and best-selling author of A Thousand Acres: a rollicking murder mystery set in Gold Rush California, as two young prostitutes follow a trail of missing girls.

  • Inland jacket

    Inland

    by TĂ©a Obreht

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    The New York Times bestselling author of The Tiger's Wife returns with a stunning tale of perseverance - an epic journey across an unforgettable landscape of magic and myth.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Lost Wife, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Susanna Moore
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Join BookBrowse

For a year of great reading
about exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Move Like Water
    Move Like Water
    by Hannah Stowe
    As a child growing up on the Pembrokeshire Coast in Wales, Hannah Stowe always loved the sea, ...
  • Book Jacket
    Loved and Missed
    by Susie Boyt
    London-based author and theater director Susie Boyt has written seven novels and the PEN Ackerley ...
  • Book Jacket: Beyond the Door of No Return
    Beyond the Door of No Return
    by David Diop
    In early 19th-century France, Aglaé's father Michel Adanson dies of old age. Sitting at ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Ben Goldfarb
    We've all seen it—a dead animal carcass on the side of the road, clearly mowed down by a car. ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Fair Rosaline
by Natasha Solomons
A subversive, powerful untelling of Romeo and Juliet by New York Times bestselling author Natasha Solomons.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Devil Makes Three
    by Ben Fountain

    A brilliant and propulsive novel set in Haiti from the award-winning, bestselling author of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk.

  • Book Jacket

    The Wren, the Wren
    by Anne Enright

    An incandescent novel about the inheritance of trauma, wonder, and love across three generations of women.

Win This Book
Win Moscow X

25 Copies to Give Away!

A daring CIA operation threatens chaos in the Kremlin. But can Langley trust the Russian at its center?

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A M I A Terrible T T W

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.