Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Once We Were Home by Jennifer Rosner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Once We Were Home

by Jennifer Rosner

Once We Were Home by Jennifer Rosner X
Once We Were Home by Jennifer Rosner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2023, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2024, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A beautifully descriptive story of four children stolen away from their families during World War II and of the deeper meanings of "home."

In addition to Once We Were Home, which our First Impressions readers awarded a high average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars, Jennifer Rosner is the author of The Yellow Bird Sings, another work of historical fiction that focuses on the experiences of children during World War II.

What the book is about:

Once We Were Home is a great title for this beautifully written and well-researched account of the lives of four children who were hidden or stolen during WWII to protect them from the Nazis and "save" them. The story follows these children for decades (1946-1968) even as they become adults with their own children. They all suffer and feel sadness as they search with hope for their birth families and real homes, following clues they uncover in their young lives (Carol S). Two Jewish children are raised by a Christian couple, go to church, and are assimilated into the Christian faith but are surrounded by love. However, they are eventually identified as being Jewish and whisked away to Israel. A boy is raised in a monastery but when identified as Jewish the church wants to save his soul, refusing to give him up, and tries to hide him. A post-graduate student in archeology goes to Israel after her mother's death with unanswered questions about her background. All of them eventually end up in Israel with questions of identity that torture their souls (Lani S).

Readers felt connected to the story through Rosner's captivating and emotional writing.

A hard book to read at times due to the trauma experienced by small children being separated from their parents to keep them safe from the Nazis. Yet, at the same time, it is a book that is hard to put down. Rosner, in her exquisite writing, brings each of the four protagonists alive and in so doing makes you grieve, care for and love each of them (Karna B). The writing is sensitive: You feel the danger, love, trust and bravery. You fear, cheer, endure and laugh — all the emotions felt by the characters. The writing places you in the story (Terry G).

They appreciated the moral and philosophical questions raised by the novel, as well as the thematic exploration of the concept of "home."

I suppose the underlying question that this novel — and history itself — leaves us with is: Were the children really protected? Was this undertaking that morphed into something entirely different, justified by religious views, really in the best interest of the children involved? (Barbara H). Novels that are set during and immediately after WWII are always among my favorites. I was eager to read this story that focuses on children who were removed from their families during the war, ostensibly for their safety. However, Once We Were Home is so much more. At the heart of this novel is the concept of home, what makes a true home and the longing for home (Gail K).

Many commented on the sheer beauty of Rosner's prose…

Beautiful, beautiful prose...this book is a treasure. The author credits her readers with the ability to follow a complicated plot as she tells the story of children displaced and stolen after WWII. This is a book to read and re-read, feeling privileged and impressed each time by the beauty of the writing (Jean B). Another beautiful, beautiful but heartbreaking-to-the-core read based on true events … Historical fiction fans will devour this marvelously written, impeccably researched read (Elizabeth P).

…and declared the story a highly memorable one.

Once We Were Home is one of those special books that will stay with me. Fans of Ruta Sepetys will appreciate this author's focus on bringing little-known history to light. I highly recommend this intricately layered story. This would also be a wonderful book club selection (Mitzi K). I was incredibly moved by this story. This author does a wondrous job of opening our hearts and minds to a little-remembered tragedy of war. This book and its characters are going to stay with me for a very long time (Debbie C).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in March 2023, and has been updated for the April 2024 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Once We Were Home, try these:

  • Beyond That, the Sea jacket

    Beyond That, the Sea

    by Laura Spence-Ash

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A sweeping, tenderhearted love story, Beyond That, the Sea by Laura Spence-Ash tells the story of two families living through World War II on opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean, and the shy, irresistible young woman who will call them both her own.

  • The Secret Book of Flora Lea jacket

    The Secret Book of Flora Lea

    by Patti Callahan Henry

    Published 2023

    About this book

    When a woman discovers a rare book that has connections to her past, long-held secrets about her missing sister and their childhood spent in the English countryside during World War II are revealed.

We have 7 read-alikes for Once We Were Home, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jennifer Rosner
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.