Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Nazi Conspiracy by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Nazi Conspiracy

The Secret Plot to Kill Roosevelt, Stalin, and Churchill

by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch

The Nazi Conspiracy by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch X
The Nazi Conspiracy by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2023, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2024, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A thrillingly written account of a plot that could have altered the course of world history.

The Nazi Conspiracy by Brad Meltzer and Josh Mensch was a big hit with our First Impressions readers, earning an overall average rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars. Meltzer, a bestselling author of thrillers, previously worked with Mensch, an acclaimed writer and television producer, on two other books about historical schemes: The First Conspiracy and The Lincoln Conspiracy.

What the book is about:

The story centers around a possible Nazi attempt to kill Franklin D. Roosevelt (USA), Winston Churchill (UK) and Joseph Stalin (USSR) while they met at the secret summit of the Big Three in Tehran, Iran, in 1943, while World War II was raging. The book details the history of these three different men, how their countries were plunged into the war, the decisions they made to work together to strategically end WWII, and the pressure this war put upon them mentally, emotionally and physically (Anke V). Eminently readable, The Nazi Conspiracy uses the German efforts to assassinate the three Allied leaders as a framework to recount personal, political and military events — for both the Allies and Axis nations — as well as the geopolitical importance of Iran to both sides of the war, a subject that doesn't seem to be addressed in many books about WWII (Carol C).

Readers were repeatedly impressed with the The Nazi Conspiracy's ability to engage and tell a good story.

I found myself talking about the book with family throughout the reading of it. To me, that eagerness to discuss is a sign of such a smooth engrossing style of writing that is much different than the history book lessons we learned as kids (Melissa S). The authors kept me on the edge of my seat… This book is the best thriller I read in 2022 (Janis H). Unlike many nonfiction books, this one is well-paced, and moves along at a good clip. Much like a spy novel, the story details intrigue and subplots at a crucial time of WWII (Daniel H). The authors have put together a story that includes much of what the war was about, but also how far Adolf Hitler was willing to go to win. The meeting at Tehran was crucial for the Allies but more crucial was Hitler's plan to kill all three leaders. The book tells this so well and without a single boring war story. It is an amazing tale (Peggy K).

Many reviewers also remarked that the work contained information they had never encountered before.

School history classes give WWII short shrift, and much of this was very new to me. I plan to reread it soon and maybe pick up some other books about the era. A winner! (Barbara C). I wasn't even aware that Iran played a role in WWII. I've read a good number of books about this war yet had never heard about this particular conspiracy (Ruth O). Even though I have good knowledge of the people and events of WWII, this book taught me much I didn't know (Janet H).

Some mentioned that the book is broader than its framing might suggest, giving a fresh perspective on the World War II era and even current affairs.

I think the title does not do the work justice. Both sides of the inner workings of leadership of the war are represented as well as the multitude of actions that took place before the Big Three meeting (Melissa S). This book not only allows for an understanding of the current Ukraine issue but of issues that were imposed on various countries in the past (Babe H). While about the conspiracy, the story also tells of the culture and politics of the time (Patricia W). The authors quite thoroughly document the roles of each of the three leaders... It is one of the most readable histories of the forces driving the war effort and result (Henry W).

Ultimately, readers thought The Nazi Conspiracy should appeal both to history enthusiasts and those who don't usually read historical nonfiction.

Highly recommended to anyone who is already a fan of WWII history and wants to explore a different perspective or those who want to expand their knowledge of iconic events and leaders of the 20th century (Florrie C). Would provide plenty of fuel for book club discussions. And you don't have to be a WWII fan to enjoy this book (Vicky S).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2023, and has been updated for the January 2024 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Operation Long Jump

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Nazi Conspiracy, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for The Nazi Conspiracy, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Brad Meltzer More books by Josh Mensch
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.