BookBrowse Reviews City Under One Roof by Iris Yamashita

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

City Under One Roof

by Iris Yamashita

City Under One Roof by Iris Yamashita X
City Under One Roof by Iris Yamashita
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jan 2023, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Glory Cumbow
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A mystery in a small Alaskan town is driven by a colorful cast of engaging characters.

When a disembodied arm and leg wash ashore in Point Mettier, Alaska, most residents assume they belong to someone who died by suicide. But Detective Cara Kennedy, who comes to the town from Anchorage to investigate, suspects there's more to this story.

The cast of oddballs and misfits in Iris Yamashita's City Under One Roof rent apartments in a single high-rise complex known as "Dave Co," where everyone knows everyone else's business. These strange folks do not greet Cara warmly as she begins poking around and asking questions about the washed-up body parts. The locals of Point Mettier wish to be left alone, happy to assume the appendages belong to a soul lost to depression at sea. As the mystery unfolds, Yamashita shifts between multiple points of view, covering the perspectives of Cara; Amy, a teenager working with her mother in their local Chinese restaurant; and Lonnie, a troubled...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked City Under One Roof, try these:

  • I'm the Girl jacket

    I'm the Girl

    by Courtney Summers

    Published 2022

    About this book

    More by this author

    The next searing and groundbreaking queer young adult novel from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Courtney Summers.

  • Miracle Creek jacket

    Miracle Creek

    by Angie Kim

    Published 2020

    About this book

    A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bloodbath Nation
    Bloodbath Nation
    by Paul Auster
    In recent years, Booker Prize­–nominated novelist Paul Auster has increasingly turned to ...
  • Book Jacket: The Nazi Conspiracy
    The Nazi Conspiracy
    by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch
    The Nazi Conspiracy by Brad Meltzer and Josh Mensch was a big hit with our First Impressions readers...
  • Book Jacket
    Yonder
    by Jabari Asim
    The captivating historical novel Yonder turns an intimate lens towards the tragedy and survivorship ...
  • Book Jacket: After Sappho
    After Sappho
    by Selby Wynn Schwartz

    "Someone will remember us, I say, even in another time."
    —Sappho, fragment ...


Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Love of My Life
by Rosie Walsh
An up-all-night love story wrapped in a mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Ghosted.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Wade in the Water
    by Nyani Nkrumah

    A gripping debut novel of female power and vulnerability, race, and class set in a small Mississippi town in the early 1980s.

  • Book Jacket

    Moonrise Over New Jessup
    by Jamila Minnicks

    "Jamila Minnicks pulled me into pages of history I'd never turned before."—Barbara Kingsolver

  • Book Jacket

    Exiles
    by Jane Harper

    A captivating new mystery from New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Jane Harper.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's A G T Me

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Every good journalist has a novel in him - which is an excellent place for it.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.