BookBrowse Reviews Let's Not Do That Again by Grant Ginder

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Let's Not Do That Again

A Novel

by Grant Ginder

Let's Not Do That Again by Grant Ginder X
Let's Not Do That Again by Grant Ginder
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Apr 2022, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Ahima
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A family drama with verve and wit about a woman running for a Senate seat and the children that support and confound her.

We have all dealt with inescapable, insufferable family members at some point, and the ones who say they haven't are probably lying. I have read beautiful, fully dimensional novels about familial perseverance, but what about novels where a nuclear family blows up? What about a family that's affected by deep trauma, but also marked by family members who'd give you second-hand embarrassment if you eavesdropped on their conversations at a restaurant the table over from yours? Grant Ginder's Let's Not Do That Again wields acerbic wit and dramatic tension through the lens of a political family. In all the chaos of this captivating novel, Ginder insists that loving anybody is work — rewarding or not, it is a fight, and only you can estimate whether the fight is worth it.

Let's Not Do That Again almost seems like a sitcom at first, or a "...walks into a bar..." joke setup. It centers ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.