Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Honor by Thrity Umrigar

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Honor

by Thrity Umrigar

Honor by Thrity Umrigar X
Honor by Thrity Umrigar
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2022, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2022, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An Indian American journalist returns to the nation of her birth to report on the story of a Hindu woman whose brothers murdered her Muslim husband.

First Impressions readers enjoyed being transported to India via Thrity Umrigar's novel Honor, with 36 out of 38 rating the book four or five stars.

What it's about:

Smita—a Mumbai native who is now an American journalist, reluctantly returns to India on an assignment she accepted as a favor to a friend. Her assignment is to profile Meena, a Hindu villager whose Muslim husband was burned to death in an "honor killing" by Meena's brothers. Meena, left disfigured in the attack, has brought charges; a verdict pends. Umrigar's strength is her great storytelling. As always, not a word is wasted as she moves us through urban Mumbai and into Meena's rural village, and into complex encounters and confrontations that Smita views with double vision as an Indian American. Her investigation stirs up painful memories of her youth in Mumbai, during the years when rising Hindu nationalism reawakened the violence of partition, now a fact of life in India. At the center of the story is Smita's developing bond with Meena and with Mohan, the friend of her friend, who is acting as her guide, driver and protector in a village where women are not supposed to work, let alone as journalists (Janice P).

Readers appreciated the insight into different facets of life in India:

You will be transported to India where you will learn about the American journalist who tells the story of Meena and Abdul. These pages are written with reality, tenderness and insight into how we are more alike than different (Helen P). Umrigar brings the city of Mumbai to life with her descriptions of the crowds, the heat, the beauty and the cultural disparities. You feel as if you are on the journey with them whether they are in a large city or a remote village (Joan V).

Though the subject matter can be difficult, the book has an approachable style:

While it is painful to read some scenes, Umrigar allows the reader to look into the windows of goodness in the hearts of people who attempt to make change in this world of sadness (Maribeth R). I feel the author's talent lies in delving into and describing the atrocity of acts of misogyny and other inequalities while not pushing the reader away in the process. This is a book and author not to be forgotten, both for subject matter and for her skill in drawing the reader into a place that's not easy to be in (Becky D). It is hard subject matter to read, but Umrigar does it in such a way that you feel the injustice, the hate, the pain, but can continue reading. She is a master at balancing the horror of what mankind is capable of, while also showing the love, loyalty, and compassion that lives within so many (Kate S).

Those familiar with Thrity Umrigar's work appreciated this book's place in her oeuvre:

I have read many of Thrity Umrigar's earlier works and found them all to be thoughtful and rich, and Honor is no exception (Nancy L). This was an easy book to rate: five stars, no hesitation (Joan V). I am a loyal fan of Umrigar's work, and she did not disappoint. Honor was well-written, with a compelling storyline. Heartbreaking, and anger-inducing. All in all, an excellent and important book, highly recommended (Cheryl S). I've been a fan of Thrity Umrigar's fiction since the 2006 publication of The Space Between Us. A Mumbai native who emigrated to the United States at 21, her novels all explore the various "spaces" between us — caste or class, religion, race, above all gender — within the social context of modern India, but with timely parallels to the United States (Janice P).

Many noted that Honor offers rich topics of discussion for book clubs:

Thrity Umrigar is a masterful writer whose characters are well-developed. I highly recommend Honor to all readers. Book clubs will have lots to talk about (Esther L). The book offers much to discuss for book clubs: oppression, opportunity, hope, religious differences, familial devotion, misogyny, friendship, betrayal, love and honor. I loved this book and I will recommend it to my book club (Helen P). Honor is a captivating read, an intriguing window into a culture as well as a really good story. Book clubs will find endless areas of discussion (Donna M).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2022, and has been updated for the December 2022 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Honor, try these:

  • The Bandit Queens jacket

    The Bandit Queens

    by Parini Shroff

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A young Indian woman finds the false rumors that she killed her husband surprisingly useful—until other women in the village start asking for her help getting rid of their own husbands—in this razor-sharp debut.

  • Moth jacket

    Moth

    by Melody Razak

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Melody Razak makes her literary debut with this internationally-acclaimed saga of one Indian family's trials through the tumultuous partition - the 1947 split of Pakistan from India - exploring its impact on women, what it means to be "othered" in one's own society, and the redemptive power of family.

We have 5 read-alikes for Honor, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Thrity Umrigar
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.