Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Win Me Something by Kyle Lucia Wu

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Win Me Something

by Kyle Lucia Wu

Win Me Something by Kyle Lucia Wu X
Win Me Something by Kyle Lucia Wu
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Nov 2021, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elisabeth Cook
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A slowly unrolling coming-of-age story with a deceptively long finish.

Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something opens with a young woman named Willa explaining that she did not feel cared for in the family environment in which she was raised. Yet she has applied to care for someone else. She is interviewing with Nathalie Adrien, who lives in the affluent Tribeca neighborhood of New York City with her husband Gabe and is seeking a nanny for their nine-year-old daughter, Bijou. In response to Nathalie's questions, Willa glosses over her work and life experience. At one point, Nathalie asks if Willa has always liked children, implying that the position she wants should be a logical extension of who she is. "I didn't like children," Willa tells the reader. But she finds that she does like Bijou, a precocious aspiring chef, and Bijou likes her. And so Willa, directionless in a way not uncommon for someone in her mid-20s, allows herself to imagine that direction is something the seemingly grounded Adriens can give her.

After Willa is hired, we are given more specifics of her life. She is second-generation Chinese American on her father's side, and grew up with her white mother; each of her divorced parents now has a second spouse and family. We learn of how she dealt with racist comments from her classmates as a child, and are presented with scenes showing the curious and absurd position in which working for the wealthy, white Adriens puts her, some of which revolve around Bijou's study of Mandarin, which is Willa's father's first language but which she herself does not speak.

As someone who shares considerable background with Wu's character, including that of being a biracial Asian woman with divorced parents, I found the details of her struggles eminently relatable. In fact, the number of textbook (if entirely realistic) microaggressions Willa recounts enduring, and the matter-of-fact way in which she explains her reactions to them, had me at first uncomfortable and involuntarily wondering, will this book, with its emphasized moments of racial suffering, be seen as endeavoring to educate white people, appeal to their sympathy? Questions like these are frankly useless for author and reader alike. They form part of the reading experience for me and many others nevertheless. I was ultimately able to appreciate Wu's novel more because of these concerns, as Willa struggles with her own feelings about the white gaze but is given space to be and do much more. As much as Win Me Something may be legitimately about the experience of being biracial, readers shouldn't pick it up expecting a lesson in empathy for the other, or a comeuppance for the Adriens and their ilk, but rather to appreciate Wu's unhurried, organic character development and skillful, nuanced storytelling.

Willa is at an age where one is still living the direct consequences of childhood, where it feels perversely like everything is happening over and over while also still happening for the first time. That tedium and helplessness is reflected in her early narration. But Win Me Something isn't about Willa's suffering or lack of power. It isn't about her taking back power, either. It's a subtly rendered and satisfying story of someone on the verge of beginning to know herself — gentle and confident in its shifts of direction, blossoming in complexity like a fine wine as it opens into the reader's mind. The novel is first mysterious and loaded with possibility, then flooded with a sense of Willa's limitations, and finally about her autonomy and choices. Her time with the Adriens represents yet another period of her life in which she is between worlds, drifting on the edge of things, but unlike with her family circumstances, she has placed herself there.

When Willa meets Ethan, Nathalie's brother, his disruptive nature suggests that she may be fated to fall for him. He's obnoxious, but shows an interest in her that at times seems genuine. In a different kind of story, the two would bicker and eventually fall in love, landing Willa in the family she idealizes and solving all of her problems. But it's difficult for the reader to know what to make of Ethan, just as it's difficult for Willa to know what to make of him. While she sometimes feels drawn to him, she also objectifies him, albeit in a different way than he may be objectifying her.

Rife with social and internal tensions as well as the fraught mentality of late adolescence, Win Me Something is nevertheless a quiet, reflective read with a long, delicate finish. Willa's time with the Adriens serves as a stepping stone for her, but in a much less dramatic way than she hopes or expects. The reader is left with the feeling that she has not proven anything and will not prove anything, to herself or to those who have misunderstood her. Having moved through her life in a series of performances, she is ultimately spared the burden of another performance for the reader. She exists in the space where she has landed, self-evident as the Adriens, as anyone.

Reviewed by Elisabeth Cook

This review first ran in the November 17, 2021 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Win Me Something, try these:

  • Dances jacket

    Dances

    by Nicole Cuffy

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A provocative and lyrical debut novel follows a trailblazing Black ballerina who must reconcile the ever-rising stakes of her grueling career with difficult questions of love, loss, and her journey to self-liberation, from a sensuous new voice in fiction.

  • Now Is Not the Time to Panic jacket

    Now Is Not the Time to Panic

    by Kevin Wilson

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    An exuberant, bighearted novel about two teenage misfits who spectacularly collide one fateful summer, and the art they make that changes their lives forever.

We have 6 read-alikes for Win Me Something, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

There is no such thing as a moral or immoral book. Books are either well written or badly written. That is all.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.