Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Fight Night by Miriam Toews

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fight Night

by Miriam Toews

Fight Night by Miriam Toews X
Fight Night by Miriam Toews
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2021, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2023, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer Hon Khalaf
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A bighearted and expansive yet intimate novel about three generations of women learning about the meaning of family, life and love.

Miriam Toews has already established herself as a powerful writer of women-centered narratives, and Fight Night is another incredible work to add to the canon. It's both refreshing and necessary to read a novel in which women are the main characters while men are offstage supporting characters that the women reflect upon to propel their own growth and development.

When the novel begins, it's a difficult time for nine-year-old Swiv, who has been suspended from school and is dealing with an absent father and a depressed mother. Swiv learns why her father left her family through her mother and grandmother, Elvira, and she also comes to understand the changing family dynamics by communicating with her yet-to-be-born baby brother, Gord. Swiv's insightful and youthful first-person narrative is interspersed with the voices of other family members — sometimes in the form of letters, or emotionally charged monologues — as they all speak to one another, including some who are dead or yet to be born. Through these novel methods of communication, the family's tumultuous past gradually unfurls.

Spanning three generations and two continents, one might not immediately recognize the monumental vastness of the themes and truths that Toews is exploring within Fight Night. This is because we are gleefully and gently guided through the events that unfold by Swiv as she tries to make sense of the world. The main thing that stands out is how incredibly funny this novel is — and that's the only way that Toews can draw out such serious and heartbreaking truths about life, by soothing us with humor and the small observations that bring joy and connection. Otherwise, how else can we face the unavoidable realities of life — that people will die, relationships will be lost, and we will inevitably let each other down, no matter how hard we try not to.

It is this balance between levity and gravity that Toews skillfully maintains as she introduces us to Swiv and Elvira, whose relationship embodies the paradoxical contradictions of life. They are young and old, caretaker and cared for. Swiv is precocious and burdened more than she should be for her tender age, and Elvira is old and deteriorating in health, but she frequently behaves with more exuberance and youth than Swiv. The relationship between the two as they embark on a journey from Canada to California to visit family shows how these polarities coexist, even when they are constantly pushing and pulling against each other. Swiv is frequently embarrassed by and frustrated with Elvira, she simultaneously loves and hates her, and she vacillates between feeling oppressed and needing her grandmother's dependence.

As Swiv tries to fight these contrasting realities of her life and her family, Fight Night culminates in a dramatic conclusion that provides deep clarity and meaning. It ties together the hodgepodge of seemingly random events, characters, word associations and references that unfold throughout the novel. This book helps us realize that love is big enough to encompass it all — all of the contradictions, messiness, tragedies and joys in life, spanning from the smallest and bawdiest of jokes to the most significant of events. Ultimately, this is why one lives, why one constantly fights to reconcile, balance, and find meaning — to reach this type of expansive love that transcends generations and the cycles of birth, life and death.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2021, and has been updated for the February 2023 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Toronto Raptors

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Fight Night, try these:

  • Headshot jacket

    Headshot

    by Rita Bullwinkel

    Published 2024

    About this book

    An electrifying debut novel from an "unusually gifted writer" (Lorrie Moore) about the radical intimacy of physical competition

  • What Happened to Ruthy Ramirez jacket

    What Happened to Ruthy Ramirez

    by Claire Jimenez

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A powerful debut novel that's "hilarious, heartbreaking, and a**-kicking" (Jamie Ford), of a Puerto Rican family in Staten Island who discovers their long‑missing sister is potentially alive and cast on a reality TV show, and they set out to bring her home.

We have 9 read-alikes for Fight Night, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Miriam Toews
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.