Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Like Home by Louisa Onome

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Like Home

by Louisa Onome

Like Home by Louisa Onome X
Like Home by Louisa Onome
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2021, 416 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 23, 2024, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Althea Draper
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A teenage girl finds her hometown changing, and her whole life turned upside down, in the face of a targeted act of vandalism.

Like Home is the powerful debut novel from Louisa Onomé that follows Chinelo, or Nelo as her friends call her, who is deeply passionate about the community spirit of her neighborhood. When a well-loved, family-owned business that is close to her heart is the scene of a crime, the rest of the world begins to focus in on the area, and things start to change in the place she calls home.

Like Home will resonate with many young people today thanks to its strong message on gentrification, and Onomé has struck gold with a compelling main character to boot. Nelo is a Black teenage girl living with her mother — while her father is away for work — in the neighborhood of Ginger East, where rent keeps rising and residents are struggling to make ends meet. Despite the local circumstances, she is devoted to her home and the people who make up the community, including her best friend, Kate, whose parents own a spice shop that is targeted by vandalism.

Nelo is an extremely strong-willed individual who, determined to get to the bottom of the attack and to get some form of justice for her friend's family, joins a local group that is organizing a peaceful protest on the matter. After an internet video in which she expresses her thoughts on the situation goes viral, she becomes even more intent on preserving the Ginger East that she loves so much and stopping the roots of gentrification, which are already apparent in the brand-new franchise spice shop in place of an old neighbor's home and the fancy coffee shop at the end of the road, from creeping any further in.

Alongside Nelo and Kate, we are introduced to three other teens who once lived in the neighborhood but have since moved to what are seen as "safer" areas. Their perspectives offer us a chance to view the whole picture of what is occurring in Ginger East, despite seeing the story directly only through Nelo's eyes.

Onomé's engaging first-person prose allows us inside the protagonist's head, and allows her character as well as the situation in the community to really resonate. Several times I found myself getting angry at the injustice happening in the neighborhood. I also felt fit to burst at the romantic tension laced so seamlessly throughout the book that accompanies Nelo falling for a childhood friend. Despite the novel being relatively lengthy for a young adult contemporary, Onomé's magnetic style made me eager to find out what was going to happen next. Her writing is fresh and authentic, enabling even adult readers to feel like they are seeing the world from a teen's perspective, text-message typos and all.

Despite her fun and at times comedic approach, the author does not shy away from hard-hitting topics. At the forefront of the story is the focus on gentrification, population displacement and the economy, alongside racism and policing in North America. In the current political climate that we find ourselves in, books like these are more vital than ever for engaging young people in subjects that matter. However, at its heart, Onomé's novel is about change – not just the change in Nelo's neighborhood, but the change in her friendships, in her body, in her private life and, perhaps most importantly, in how she connects with her community.

Like Home is truly the perfect read for those who love the powerful narratives of Angie Thomas and Ibi Zoboi's passionate writing style — it is a dynamic novel, tinged with childhood nostalgia, that will play on in your mind long after the final page and leave you aching for more from Louisa Onomé's skillful pen.

Reviewed by Althea Draper

This review first ran in the March 3, 2021 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Like Home, try these:

  • Blood Like Magic jacket

    Blood Like Magic

    by Liselle Sambury

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A rich, dark urban fantasy debut following a teen witch who is given a horrifying task: sacrificing her first love to save her family's magic. The problem is, she's never been in love - she'll have to find the perfect guy before she can kill him.

  • Punching the Air jacket

    Punching the Air

    by Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi

    Published 2021

    About this book

    More by this author

    From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

We have 7 read-alikes for Like Home, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.