We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie

by Marie Benedict

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict X
The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2020, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2021, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A work of historical fiction based on the true story of Agatha Christie's mysterious disappearance and her turbulent first marriage.

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict, notable author of previous historical fiction such as The Other Einstein and Lady Clementine, earned an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars from our First Impressions reviewers.

What the book is about:

This cleverly structured, well-researched, fast-paced, skillfully written fictionalized account focuses on a famous 11-day period in Christie's life, when the already well-known author disappeared without a trace, after a shouting match over a Friday breakfast with her husband, Archie Christie. Benedict's novel covering this disappearance twists like a double helix: Chapters narrated by Agatha covering her life in flashbacks from October, 1912, when she first met Archie, to December 14, 1926, when she reappeared after her 11-day hiatus, intertwine with chapters narrated by Archie, which cover his day-to-day experience from Saturday, December 4, when her car was found by a cliff, to her being discovered over a week later, safe and well at an upscale seaside hotel (Julia E).

Readers enjoyed the dual-timeline approach and how the story alternated between Agatha and Archie.

The two voices alternating in the novel are well done, and held a bit of surprise for me in the second part. My detective skills were not ahead of the author's (Theresa P)! The circumstances, attitudes and emotions which motivate the actions of the characters are well-developed in the chapters dealing with the earlier time frame and the novelist's imagination fills in the gaps in what is known about the real-life events. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, and I think the dual-timeline approach works well for the most part (Rebecca H).

Many pointed out that Benedict adopts a style similar to that of Christie's own novels, making the story a treat for dedicated fans of the author.

Blending events from Agatha's life with a writing style familiar to fans of Christie's novels, Marie Benedict pays homage to Christie's detective fiction (Shawna). The mystery of Agatha Christie's 11-day disappearance in December, 1926 has persisted to this day. Marie Benedict presents a wonderfully engaging and thrilling answer to that mystery with twists and turns worthy of any Christie whodunit (Barbara E).

Some found the book slow-paced and occasionally challenging, but this didn't discourage them from recommending it.

The formal English dialogue of the time period unfortunately dragged my interest away and I found myself skimming along to find the plot points more quickly than my reading eyes allowed. My attention just did not stay focused enough on the carefully designed narrative. I honestly believe if I had found this book at a different time in my personal schedule, my opinion would have improved as I have thoroughly enjoyed other selections by this talented novelist, so I'll still recommend this creative telling to readers, especially if they are Agatha Christie fans (Juli B). I enjoyed this book. I found it to be a bit of a slow burn but I think I liked it because it was (Marybeth T).

Reviewers commented that The Mystery of Mrs. Christie will interest fans of historical fiction, Christie aficionados and mystery lovers in general.

This is a must-read for fans of British mysteries, and a sound choice for those who enjoy sharply written, soundly researched historical fiction (Julia E). If you have read any of Agatha Christie's novels, love historical fiction or love a good mystery, YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK (Celia P). I recommend this to all who enjoy historical fiction (Dianne S).

Perhaps most importantly, readers found Benedict's fictional explanation for Christie's disappearance satisfying.

The how and why of this disappearance are shocking but logical and deeply satisfying. I highly recommend this book (Barbara E)! I was captivated by The Mystery of Mrs. Christie. I was completely unaware of the episode in her life that this story is based on, and loved Marie Benedict's telling of the way it might have been (Theresa P). The ending and explanation of the events was entirely satisfying; indeed, I hope it was true (Joan V).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2021, and has been updated for the November 2021 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Mystery of Mrs. Christie, try these:

  • A Mystery of Mysteries jacket

    A Mystery of Mysteries

    by Mark Dawidziak

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A Mystery of Mysteries is a brilliant biography of Edgar Allan Poe that examines the renowned author's life through the prism of his mysterious death and its many possible causes.

  • The Personal Librarian jacket

    The Personal Librarian

    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray

    Published 2022

    About this book

    More by this author

    The remarkable, little-known story of Belle da Costa Greene, J. P. Morgan's personal librarian--who became one of the most powerful women in New York despite the dangerous secret she kept in order to make her dreams come true, from New York Times bestselling author Marie Benedict and acclaimed author Victoria Christopher Murray.

We have 7 read-alikes for The Mystery of Mrs. Christie, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Marie Benedict
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.