Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Punching the Air by Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Punching the Air

by Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi

Punching the Air by Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi X
Punching the Air by Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2020, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    Dec 2021, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Bintrim
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A young artist grapples with racial injustice in a captivating novel-in-verse.

I paint in words and voices, rhymes and rhythm
and every whisper, every conversation beats a drum
in my mind
at full blast
...
I paint in wrong choices, regrets, and broken dreams
and every acquaintance, friend, and enemy laughs at me
in my mind
really, really loud

Sixteen-year-old Amal Shahid, a Black Muslim boy, is a promising artist who loves to paint and spit rhymes (rap). He attends an art magnet school and is looking forward to applying to colleges, until the night he is drawn into a fight that leaves a white boy in a coma and Amal with regrets and broken dreams.

Written in first-person verse by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi (American Street) and Yusef Salaam, one of the "Central Park Five" (now the Exonerated Five; see Beyond the Book), Punching the Air takes on Big Issues — racism, the school-to-prison pipeline, prison abolition and gentrification — while still telling an affecting story of one specific boy whose life is shaped by structural and institutional forces beyond his control.

At trial, where "everything that I am, that I've ever been / counts as being / guilty," Amal, who admits "I threw the first punch but not the last," is found guilty of assault and battery and sent to juvenile detention. There, he struggles with rules "that force us into straight lines...like robots like worker ants" and with a racially segregated social order in which he has a target on his back. He begins to give in to despair and rage, having lost not just his freedom and future, but also his means of self-expression: "I sink deeper and deeper into hell...The mountain in my throat / the building on my chest / are now an entire country and city / in my stomach."

Through a poetry class led by a prison abolitionist, some kind gestures from a guard who encourages his art, and the support of his friends and family, Amal gradually makes his way back to the surface, even as he waits for the boy he supposedly assaulted to come out of his coma and tell the truth about what happened that night.

The book's messaging around systemic racism and structural violence can be heavy-handed, relying on clunky exposition and stock characters rather than trusting Amal and the reader to gradually awaken to a greater awareness of these issues through the story. For example, a guest speaker's lessons on the 13th Amendment feel like a didactic interruption, intended more to teach the reader than to move Amal's story forward.

The writing, however, can be captivating and powerful, especially when it lets the reader into Amal's interior life. Spare and straightforward verse gives way to vibrant, rhythmic bursts when he spits his rhymes. He is a wonderfully complex main character — neither sinner nor saint, sheltered yet aware, still a boy but not a child — and an important counter to the stereotypes of Black teenage boys that saturate the media.

As an undertold story, a primer on systemic racism and simply a work of literature, Punching the Air deserves a spot on the bookshelves — and book club lists — of both teen and adult readers.

Reviewed by Lisa Bintrim

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2020, and has been updated for the January 2022 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Punching the Air, try these:

  • Like Home jacket

    Like Home

    by Louisa Onome

    Published 2024

    About this book

    Fans of Netflix's On My Block and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Angie Thomas will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws both her relationships and neighborhood into turmoil.

  • Nightcrawling jacket

    Nightcrawling

    by Leila Mottley

    Published 2023

    About this book

    A dazzling novel about a young black woman who walks the streets of Oakland and stumbles headlong into the failure of its justice system - the debut of a blazingly original voice that "bursts at the seams of every page and swallows you whole" (Tommy Orange, bestselling author of There There).

We have 9 read-alikes for Punching the Air, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Ibi Zoboi
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.