Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Miss Austen by Gill Hornby

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Miss Austen

by Gill Hornby

Miss Austen by Gill Hornby X
Miss Austen by Gill Hornby
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2020, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2021, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A charming work of historical fiction, Miss Austen gives readers a glimpse into the world of Jane Austen's beloved sister, Cassandra.

Gill Hornby's Miss Austen did very well with our First Impressions readers, garnering an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars. Hornby is the author of the previous novels The Hive and All Together Now, as well as a biography of Jane Austen for young readers, The Story of Jane Austen.

What the book is about:

Miss Austen by Gill Hornby focuses on Cassandra (see Beyond the Book), Jane's older sister, constant companion and literary executor of her estate. Always concerned about the legacy that Jane will leave, when Cassandra learns that the parsonage where the Fowles—extended family and great friends of the Austens—lived is being claimed by the replacement clergyman, she invites herself to stay. She is determined to find and censor any letters that might cast a shadow on Jane's life. And as is often the case when you dig in the past, she learns some things she might prefer not to know (Dorothy M). One would assume that a book titled Miss Austen would be about Jane Austen, but Cassandra Austen, Jane's sister, is the protagonist of this well written historical novel. Jane is deceased, and Cassandra is going through old letters of hers, deciding which are important to tell the story of Jane's life (Julie Z).

Readers enjoyed delving into the life of Cassandra Austen and her relationship with her famous sister.

What a wonderful step into the world of Cassandra Austen—and sister Jane. I was thoroughly delighted with Hornby's rendering of Jane and Cassie's lives. It's fun to see Jane as a little "snarky" at times and Cassie's inner thoughts contrasting with her outward behavior (Gwen C). Very few relationships come close to the intensity of sisters. If close, there is nothing that can come between them. Such was the case with Cassandra and Jane Austen. Though more of a supporting character in a family with some very colorful personalities, Cassandra Austen proved her love and loyalty to Jane throughout their lives and after. This book focuses on the after, and the preservation of Jane's good name, though on its own it is a delightful window into Cassandra's reimagined life (Anne M).

While some reviewers found parts of the story underdeveloped, including the character of Jane,

The portrayal of Jane Austen as fragile, emotionally unstable and depressed seemed contrived and did not ring true to me (Terri O). Cassandra is a very interesting and sympathetic character but Jane remains elusive. There is a crowded cast of characters (many clearly based on Austen's) that never really catch and keep the reader's attention (Margot P).

...many appreciated the insights they gained into the experiences of women at the time...

An unflinching look at the constraints around women's lives in the 1700s and 1800s, the novel shows how bright, creative women like Jane Austen and her sister Cassandra navigated within those gender limitations and ultimately created space for themselves to live lives of their choosing (Katie V). As Jane Austen did, Hornby shows us the options open to women during the period, always limited, and the dismal opportunities for single women or women whose husbands were no longer around (Dorothy M).

...and the influences of Jane's work on the story.

In this delightful novel about Jane Austen's sister Cassandra the author deftly weaves in familiar Austen plot elements: sisters and their immediate and extended relatives; seaside visits; a public dance and a picnic; visits with friends; domestic issues and long walks; off-stage marriage proposals and their consequences; mistakes about love, some fixable and some not; and the necessity of finding one's place in the world, particularly for unmarried women (Deborah W). Those familiar with Jane's novels will enjoy the prose style, reminiscent of Austen's own, which transports the reader into the life of the early 19th-century spinsters. The story has parallels to Austen's novels, perhaps especially Persuasion. Highly recommended for Austen lovers (Rebecca H)!

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in May 2020, and has been updated for the March 2021 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Cassandra Austen (1773-1845)

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Miss Austen, try these:

  • The Jane Austen Society jacket

    The Jane Austen Society

    by Natalie Jenner

    Published 2021

    About this book

    Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.

  • Hamnet jacket

    Hamnet

    by Maggie O'Farrell

    Published 2021

    About this book

    More by this author

    "Of all the stories that argue and speculate about Shakespeare's life … here is a novel … so gorgeously written that it transports you." —The Boston Globe

We have 7 read-alikes for Miss Austen, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Gill Hornby
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.