We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Saint X by Alexis Schaitkin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Saint X

by Alexis Schaitkin

Saint X by Alexis Schaitkin X
Saint X by Alexis Schaitkin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2020, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2021, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rachel Hullett
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Years after the death of her 18-year-old sister while on vacation in the Caribbean, a young woman becomes fixated on a man suspected of murdering her.

In the opening pages of her debut novel, Alexis Schaitkin introduces the reader to an idyllic beach scene, where mostly American tourists are lounging around on the fictional island of Saint X. Within a few pages idyll turns to tragedy as the 18-year-old daughter of the Thomas family, Alison, goes missing, and days later turns up dead. Two men are charged with her murder, but both are acquitted, and the mystery goes unsolved. Years later, we follow Alison's younger sister, Claire, who was only seven years old at the time of Alison's death. Now living in New York, Claire has a chance encounter that brings her into contact with Clive Richardson, one of the two men that had been charged with killing Alison. Believing their encounter to be an act of fate, Claire latches onto her connection with Clive in an attempt to discover what really happened to her sister.

When we meet Claire in the present day she is in her early 30s, and it appears that Alison's death hasn't exactly been haunting her in the intervening years. She's had a relatively ordinary adolescence, all things considered: she studied, went on dates, partied. While she hasn't made peace with Alison's death, neither has she really tried to. It isn't until Claire meets Clive that she begins to confront this tragic episode from her past, and in doing so, ends up seeing Alison in a completely different light. The glamorous, charismatic young woman that she had idolized as a child now appears an insecure teenage girl, and in investigating her death, Claire finds herself asking questions about who Alison really was.

The theme of privilege is at the forefront of the narrative: the two sisters had grown up in an affluent family, but was this something that Alison resented or reveled in? We explore the possibility that Alison may have hated her family's lavish island vacations to the point where she would throw herself into local culture to prove that she was something more than just a rich American girl on vacation. Naturally, the question follows: are we ever able to truly escape ourselves? Claire wonders if Alison found the answer.

The opposite perspective on Caribbean tourism is then explored in Clive's narrative. Schaitkin delves into the symbiotic relationship between the local islanders and the tourists that feed their economy. Clive's reasons for immigrating to the U.S. are eventually revealed, but first, the reader is shown his childhood of poverty and loneliness, allayed when he meets his best friend Edwin, with whom he would eventually be accused of murder. The narrative mostly stays with Claire in the first person, but these third-person interludes recounting Clive's youth provide glimpses into a world completely distinct from Claire and Alison's.

Saint X is not a traditional mystery in the sense that the novel is driven less by the crime and more by its aftermath. (The question of whether there even is a crime underscores the narrative; the island's police force ultimately declares Alison's death a tragic accident, an explanation that her father struggles to accept.) It's a book that gathers steam as it goes, with themes that gradually reveal themselves to be more complex and multifaceted than they first appear. Schaitkin raises questions about privilege, obsession, guilt and grief that Claire grapples with alongside the reader, right up to the book's thrilling conclusion.

Reviewed by Rachel Hullett

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in March 2020, and has been updated for the June 2021 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Saint X, try these:

  • Hot Springs Drive jacket

    Hot Springs Drive

    by Lindsay Hunter

    Published 2023

    About this book

    The third title in Roxane Gay Books' inaugural list, Hot Springs Drive is an urgent, vicious blade of a novel about a shocking betrayal and its aftermath, asking just how far you'll go to have everything you want

  • Bright Young Women jacket

    Bright Young Women

    by Jessica Knoll

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the megabestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive comes another shocking thriller inspired by the real-life sorority and target of America's first celebrity serial killer.

We have 8 read-alikes for Saint X, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Alexis Schaitkin
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.