Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Father of Lions

One Man's Remarkable Quest to Save the Mosul Zoo

by Louise Callaghan

Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan X
Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2020, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2021, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In Father of Lions, Louise Callaghan gives us a touching account of humanity in tumultuous times and one man's abiding love for animals.

Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 rated the book 4 or 5 stars.

As many readers point out, Father of Lions isn't just a story about animal rescue, but also human survival.

Father of Lions is more than one book. There is the story of the ISIS occupation and atrocities that happened in Mosul, a story that you don't get in an evening news expose. You have within that narrative two families struggling to just survive and the story within those two families of one man's love of animals and determination to save those still alive (Diane T). As an animal lover, I really enjoyed this book. I think it would appeal to a larger audience, though as it's not just an animal story. It also tells the story of what it's like living in Iraq under ISIS control. Louise Callaghan shares the true story of a man named Abu Laith who lives among this devastation and horror (Carole C).

It seemed almost like reading a civilian survival story and its animal-rescue-themed sequel. Louise Callaghan has done an amazing job of evoking the tense, dusty waiting and mortar-driven hiding inherent in an urban battlefield (Erin J). In addition to detailing how Abu Laith, known as the Father of Lions, tended the animals in the Mosul Zoo, where his own lion Zombie lived, she has written a detailed account of the horrors and perils of life in an ISIS-controlled corner of Iraq (Emily C).

Readers were impressed with Callaghan's deft blend of journalism and storytelling.

This book does not disappoint. Louise Callaghan did her homework and pieced together a true story that reads like a novel (Rene M). Louise Callaghan devoted a big chunk of her life to tracking down this true story and writing it. I, for one, am grateful. This journalistic masterpiece is detailed yet intriguing (Diane Y).

Some readers warned of grim subject matter, and some didn't always find the book engaging, even if they enjoyed it.

This story of human resilience, in the face of religious fanaticism, shows that survival in the worst circumstances is possible, if neither predictable nor perfect. The author impresses the grinding reality of war upon the reader, with a few positive results, but there is no fairy tale ending. The futility of much that the characters work to achieve makes this a disheartening tale (Paula B). I enjoyed the book. I had trouble getting into it, and never really formed an attachment to the main characters, but it told a riveting story (Donna W).

Overall, though, readers seemed to appreciate how much they were personally able to learn from even the bleaker parts of Father of Lions...

The backdrop of Iraq during ISIS' reign was horrifying. I now have a much better understanding of the impact of their inhumane tactics on the citizens (Diane Y). This was a very interesting book. As I started reading, I thought I would be reading a book devoted entirely to animals. Instead I was thrown into the horrors associated with the Iraqi war. I learned a lot about the history, traditions, and people of Iraq (Donna W).

...and ultimately, many fell in love with the heart and humanity of the story.

This is a fascinating and sobering tale of life under ISIS in Mosul and one man's devotion to animals. It is populated with intriguing characters who are sometimes funny, sometimes tragic, but always human (Barbara E). It is wonderful to read how people who love animals can all come together to save them, especially during a conflict that puts their lives at risk (Gloria F). Louise Callaghan has produced a narrative of immeasurable courage, insight and love (Diane T).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2020, and has been updated for the April 2021 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Father of Lions, try these:

  • The Pianist from Syria jacket

    The Pianist from Syria

    by Aeham Ahmad

    Published 2021

    About this book

    An astonishing but true account of a pianist's escape from war-torn Syria to Germany offers a deeply personal perspective on the most devastating refugee crisis of this century.

  • Sounds Like Titanic jacket

    Sounds Like Titanic

    by Jessica Chiccehitto Hindman

    Published 2020

    About this book

    A Finalist for the 2019 National Book Critics Circle Award in Autobiography

    "Deliciously bizarre and utterly American.…[A] Coen brothers movie come to life.…I couldn't put it down." —Caitlin Doughty, best-selling author of Smoke Gets in Your Eyes and Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?

We have 5 read-alikes for Father of Lions, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.