Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews We, the Survivors by Tash Aw

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

We, the Survivors

by Tash Aw

We, the Survivors by Tash Aw X
We, the Survivors by Tash Aw
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2019, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2020, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rachel Hullett
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In Tash Aw's fourth novel, he explores the social conditions of working-class Malaysia through the eyes of a man convicted of murder.

We, The Survivors tells the story of Ah Hock, a Malaysian man recently released from prison where he served time for murdering a Bangladeshi migrant worker. This poignant, quietly moving story is not a mystery or thriller: the identity of the victim and the circumstances of the crime are established early on. Instead, Tash Aw uses this novel to create a bleak and textured portrait of working-class Malaysia.

The novel is told in the first person, as Ah Hock narrates his life story to a young research journalist, Su-Min, who comes to take notes on his case over a series of meetings. The relationship between Ah Hock (an older man, a laborer) and this young woman (a New Yorker, a queer radical feminist) is never the focus of the novel, but it's the narrative frame that holds the book together, as Ah Hock's self-consciousness of how Su-Min perceives him underscores all of their exchanges, and also helps bridge the gap between Ah Hock and the Western readers of this novel. In a conversation where Ah Hock describes killing a feral cat to put it out of its misery, the ordinarily warm but stoic Su-Min grows pale and distant. "[S]he cares more about the cat than she does about me," he muses, cognizant of the fact that the Western world has grown desensitized to the human suffering in developing societies. Still, the two form an understanding that accentuates the mostly grim plot with a thread of hopefulness.

The stories that Ah Hock tells Su-Min jump around in place and time; the narrative isn't linear, but it chronicles his life and centers on the act of violence that eventually landed him in prison. "People like us don't fight over love, we fight over houses, land, sometimes cars, mostly money—things that make a difference to the way we live," he tells Su-Min in an early exchange, when asked about motive. The story that follows is entirely devoid of romance – though there is a marriage; a practical one – and also of romanticization. The portrait that Aw paints of working-class Malaysian life is unrelentingly unpleasant; these stories are filled with illness, physical exhaustion and flooding houses, while all centering on the mutually destructive friendship between Ah Hock and a younger man, Keong, a drug dealer determined to escape from poverty.

If this book has one failing, it's the overly languid pace; this isn't a book that necessarily gets its hooks in the reader from the onset. Without much of a narrative to propel the story forward, it's easy to set it down and not feel compelled to pick it right back up. However, with its sharp social commentary and eventual emotional payoff, it rewards perseverance. How many of our actions are done of free will, and how many are determined by our upbringing? How can one succeed in a system stacked against them? And is there a true commonality to the human experience, or are we all divided more than united by our nations and social classes? These are the questions that Aw thoughtfully examines in We, The Survivors; though concrete answers remain, as always in the most multifaceted books, slightly outside our grasp.

Reviewed by Rachel Hullett

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2019, and has been updated for the October 2020 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked We, the Survivors, try these:

  • Temporary People jacket

    Temporary People

    by Deepak Unnikrishnan

    Published 2017

    About this book

    Until now, the humanitarian crisis of the so-called "guest workers" of the Gulf has barely been addressed in fiction. With his stunning, mind-altering debut novel Temporary People, Deepak Unnikrishnan delves into their histories, myths, struggles, and triumphs.

  • The Sympathizer jacket

    The Sympathizer

    by Viet Thanh Nguyen

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    Winner of 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. A startling debut novel featuring one of the most remarkable narrators of recent fiction: a conflicted subversive and idealist working as a double agent in the aftermath of the Vietnam War

We have 5 read-alikes for We, the Survivors, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Tash Aw
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.