MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Everything Inside by Edwidge Danticat

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Everything Inside

by Edwidge Danticat

Everything Inside by Edwidge Danticat X
Everything Inside by Edwidge Danticat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2019, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Danticat explores the intricacies of love and loss in this moving collection of short stories.

Edwidge Danticat is a Haitian-American writer, and Haiti looms large as a presence in this collection, just as it does in her other books, including National Book Award nominee Krik, Krak! (1996), her only other collection of short stories. All of Everything Inside's characters have some connection to Haiti, be it overt or subtle, but to focus too narrowly on this feature is to miss the grander point. Danticat's creations are human first and foremost, and usually painfully so. These are stories about the breakdown of human connections, of communication, of the body and mind. The Haitian settings (including Miami's Little Haiti) are largely atmospheric—important, but hardly the most interesting aspect of the collection.

Loss plays a central role throughout these stories. There is a palpable sense of what might have been. Characters suffer heartache that often seems senseless, or ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Little Haiti

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Cartier's Hope
    by M. J. Rose

    A Gilded Age gem of ambition & betrayal from the author of New York Times bestseller, Tiffany Blues.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.