Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Yale Needs Women by Anne Gardiner Perkins

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Yale Needs Women

How the First Group of Girls Rewrote the Rules of an Ivy League Giant

by Anne Gardiner Perkins

Yale Needs Women by Anne Gardiner Perkins X
Yale Needs Women by Anne Gardiner Perkins
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2019, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2021, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The fascinating stories of Yale University's first class of female students after the school went coed in 1969.

Anne Gardiner Perkins' Yale Needs Women was a big hit with our First Impressions readers, receiving at least 4-stars from all reviewers for an average 4.6-star rating; and reminding many of their own years at college.

What it's about:

Yale admitted women to the undergraduate class in the fall 1969 for the first time, largely because the school had lost a significant number of highly qualified male applicants who preferred to go to co-educational colleges. Having taken this step, the university took virtually no further action to integrate women into its culture. Outnumbered seven to one, women were isolated, without administrative or self-support systems, regarded as classroom curiosities or sexual prey. Anne Gardiner Perkins' history of the incipient women's movement at Yale traces how, over the course of four years, Yale women—undergrad and grad students, the very few faculty and administrators and nonacademic staff—and even some men worked on issues that influenced change (Nona F).

Readers felt this was a fascinating piece of history, well told by Perkins:

This piece of history needed to be told and this book captured it well (Terrie J). This is an important book about a pivotal chapter in education history. And Perkins has managed to make it an interesting story, too (Celia A). The rich stories of the women are wound nicely together around the events that were happening at the time, including the Black Panther trial and Vietnam War protests (Kara M). I think this book is a must-read for those interested in the evolution of university coeducation, as well as women's rights. We must study history, not ignore or destroy it, in order to learn how to better ourselves for the future (Liz B). This is a page-turner of a story, built around compelling individuals, ideal for those interested in the history of the women's movement (Nona F).

Despite taking place half a century ago, readers felt this story was relevant to the ongoing fight against misogyny:

My daughter and granddaughters need to read this book; some of these issues exist today, pay equity being the most obvious. This book was very well written and I am recommending it to several book groups (Joyce W). This book is so relevant today, when the "Me Too" movement has forced everyone to take note, and in many cases, take ownership of the misogyny that has gripped this nation for far too long. Bravo Ms. Perkins and bravo to those women who endured Yale during the early years of the women's movement for equality (Shelley C). It's a chronicle of survival in higher education, told by the women who lived it. The problems these women faced are still rampant in our society today; this is a history you should not pass up (Nona F). The women were pioneers of not just equality in education but in all aspects of life. Yale Needs Women is a book every young person should read (Charlene M). It was very enlightening to look back at these pioneer women from the perspective of "Me Too" (Elizabeth T).

And many readers could easily place the book in the context of their own lives:

I graduated from Radcliffe in 1969 with a Harvard degree. I learned much about the difference between Yale and Harvard reading this. Clearly Yale needed women because they were losing them to Harvard! (Elizabeth C). This book may have been of particular interest to me because I entered a public university in Texas the same year the first women arrived at Yale. It was fascinating to read of their experiences on that Ivy League campus and to see how they contrasted or paralleled my own (Rosemary C). I loved this book from beginning to end, partly because I had just graduated from college when Yale opened its doors to women. I visited Yale in the bad old days when we Smithies piled onto the bus each weekend to see our beaux in New Haven. I was naive enough to be envious of that first and second class: "Think of the attention! Think of the choice of boyfriends!" Little did I know that the college wouldn't let these very young women have locks on their bathroom doors and that the chivalry I had experienced as a date wore away quickly when the Yale male bastion was threatened. But how strong these first Yale women were! (Elizabeth T).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2019, and has been updated for the August 2021 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Yale Needs Women, try these:

  • The Doctors Blackwell jacket

    The Doctors Blackwell

    by Janice P. Nimura

    Published 2022

    About this book

    Elizabeth Blackwell believed from an early age that she was destined for a mission beyond the scope of "ordinary" womanhood.

  • Fly Girls jacket

    Fly Girls

    by Keith O'Brien

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    The untold story of five women who fought to compete against men in the high-stakes national air races of the 1920s and 1930s — and won.

We have 5 read-alikes for Yale Needs Women, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.