Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Volunteer by Jack Fairweather

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Volunteer

One Man, an Underground Army, and the Secret Mission to Destroy Auschwitz

by Jack Fairweather

The Volunteer by Jack Fairweather X
The Volunteer by Jack Fairweather
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2019, 416 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2020, 528 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Winner of the Costa Book of the Year Award. A fascinating and well-researched account of a heroic Polish soldier who willingly entered Auschwitz as a prisoner on an intelligence-seeking mission.

Though many found The Volunteer a challenging read, First Impressions responses were overwhelmingly positive. The book received an average rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars from our 25 member-reviewers.

What it's about:
Witold Pilecki, a second lieutenant in the Polish cavalry reserves, answered his country's call to bring his troop of 90 trained volunteers to defend Poland when the Resistance learned that Hitler had signed a pact with Stalin. In order to learn what the Germans were doing once they had total control of Poland, the Resistance needed someone to infiltrate Auschwitz, Germany's first concentration camp. Witold volunteered to allow himself to be captured. Once inside, he studied the layout of the camp and sought out prisoners he could trust to become part of the network of resisters (Janis H).

Readers were impressed with the depth of the historical content:
Pilecki's memoir and private papers, which have recently been translated into English, serve as one of the main sources for this well-written and riveting book (Emily C). I have read many WWII books, both fiction and non-fiction, and this is one of the best. Kudos to Mr. Fairweather (Joanne V). This was quite a piece of work. Mr. Fairweather used an original source, hidden to the larger world until 1989 – the journals of Witold Pilecki...It was fascinating to read a firsthand account of Auschwitz - horrible and painful and inhumane, yet essential to try to understand human beings and our capacities (Molly B).

Many readers described the book as a cautionary tale about human cruelty:
This book is a stunning tale of the depths to which men sink in times of war and the heights that some reach to save others (Peggy K). The author's often harrowing account helped me see clearly how arrogance can make us look down upon our fellow human beings and see them as inhuman objects (Sandra H). This is not a feel good story of heroics - it is a depressing but necessary tale of one man and his compatriots who idealistically sought to make a difference in the world against the horrors of man's inhumanity to man...This book is not for the faint-hearted (Suzette P). At this time in our nation's history, it serves as a reminder that human beings have the capacity for unimaginable cruelty to each other, when we are unconscious, thirsty for power, and when we blindly follow an ignorant, narcissistic and immoral leader (Molly B). It is said that if we don't learn from history we are doomed to repeat it. A sobering thought indeed (Florence K).

Some found the author's depiction of the violent subject matter too visceral:
I'm giving it only 4 stars because of the relentless way in which the author narrates, page after page after page, the most minute details of the Nazis' brutality. It was so traumatizing to read that I could barely focus on the story. We should never grow numb to these horrors, but the graphic presentation of them can easily overwhelm all other narratives (Jeanne B). The presentation of the violence was unrelenting. I realize it is the unvarnished, detailed truth, but as a reader it was too painful and psychologically tormenting for me (Thom J).

However, most would recommend the book wholeheartedly, including to book groups and young people:
This is an inspiring and suspenseful read. I highly recommend it to all who are students of World War II history and the horrors of the Holocaust (Emily C). This important book should be discussed in more places than just book clubs. High school and college students should read this, as it is a first-hand account of what happened in Eastern Europe and in this death camp. What about atrocities in the world now? Would eyewitnesses be believed today? Would these kinds of "camps" be allowed to exist today? What would you do in such a situation? These are great discussion topics for younger people...We must never forget (Chris W). This is a book that should be read by everyone, especially today's youth. Book clubs will be able to find so many questions to discuss about this book and the time it represents (Peggy K).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2019, and has been updated for the July 2020 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Auschwitz-Birkenau Today

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Volunteer, try these:

  • The Nazi Conspiracy jacket

    The Nazi Conspiracy

    by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the New York Times bestselling authors of The First Conspiracy and The Lincoln Conspiracy comes the little-known true story of a Nazi plot to kill FDR, Joseph Stalin, and Winston Churchill at the height of World War II.

  • The Light of Days jacket

    The Light of Days

    by Judy Batalion

    Published 2022

    About this book

    One of the most important stories of World War II, already optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture: a spectacular, searing history that brings to light the extraordinary accomplishments of brave Jewish women who became resistance fighters - a group of unknown heroes whose exploits have never been chronicled in full, until now.

We have 10 read-alikes for The Volunteer, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

The third-rate mind is only happy when it is thinking with the majority. The second-rate mind is only happy when it...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.