BookBrowse Reviews Courting Mr. Lincoln by Louis Bayard

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Courting Mr. Lincoln

by Louis Bayard

Courting Mr. Lincoln by Louis Bayard X
Courting Mr. Lincoln by Louis Bayard
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2019, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 11, 2020, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel about the brilliant future president and the two people who knew him best.

19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. Lincoln, 4- or 5-star for an average overall rating of 4.4.

What it's about:
As a quick skim through American history could show, it's often tough being First Lady; your husband's opponents are vicious while you are alive, and historians even more damning once you are dead. This is certainly true of Abraham Lincoln's wife, Mary. The Mary Todd Lincoln of popular lore is unsympathetic; it's hard to grasp why Lincoln married her. In this exquisitely written slice of historical fiction, Louis Bayard brings to life the 1840s social milieu of Springfield, Illinois, where brilliant, ungainly Abraham Lincoln is getting his start in politics, and pretty, plump strong-willed Mary Todd is in town looking for a husband. Using historical details with light, accurate touch, Bayard serves up a Mary that ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  History of the First Lady

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.