BookBrowse Reviews The Smiling Man by Joseph Knox

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Smiling Man

An Aidan Waits Thriller

by Joseph Knox

The Smiling Man by Joseph Knox X
The Smiling Man by Joseph Knox
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 2019, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Multiple dark story arcs spiral through the follow-up to Joseph Knox's noir debut Sirens, as Detective Constable Aiden Waits' past spills into the investigation of an unidentified murder victim.

Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is discovered in the fourth floor suite of an abandoned hotel in Manchester. This ought to be enough drama for night shift partners Detective Constable Aiden Waits and his superior, DI Peter Sutcliffe (Sutty). But then Knox throws in an unconscious hotel security guard, soon-to-be-divorced hotel co-owners battling over custody of the classic building, a string of dustbin fires, and a right wing media type who secretly videos his numerous liaisons. And that's just for starters.

I was hooked at the dead man. When Waits and Sutty find the victim he is seated, facing a window that overlooks Europe's busiest bus route, his lips peeled back in a grotesque rictus. Sutty is quick to sardonically dub him "the smiling man" because there are no clues to his identity. There is no wallet, credit card, ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Fingerprint Alteration

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.