We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews A Ladder to the Sky by John Boyne

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Ladder to the Sky

A Novel

by John Boyne

A Ladder to the Sky by John Boyne X
A Ladder to the Sky by John Boyne
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2018, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2019, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A fascinating portrait of a relentlessly immoral man, a tour de force of storytelling, and the next great novel from an acclaimed literary virtuoso.

Of our 44 First Impression readers, 32 gave A Ladder to the Sky a four- or five-star review for an average rating of 4.5.

What it's about:
John Boyne's A Ladder to the Sky is a novel about literary theft and ambition (Constance C). Its main character, Maurice Swift, badly wants to be a writer but lacks the requisite imagination and skills; he must therefore resort to stealing the work of others (Dottie B). Divided into sections, each part is narrated by a different character who provides a varying perspective of Swift's rise in the literary world. The reader is swept along from 1988 to the present, only slowly becoming more and more aware of the plagiarist's true nature and the lengths to which he will go to ensure success (Suzette P).

The book takes readers into the world of publishing and other industries:
The novel is a marvelous send-up of the contemporary publishing world and the literati (Deborah M); it feels like an insider peek into the industry (Anita P). Boyne depicts it as a particularly nasty business; if you entertain the notion of becoming a published author, maybe you shouldn't read this novel…but then again, maybe you should (Dottie B). It is eerily on target in this day of electronic and social media and is applicable across all professions; it considers decisions we all face every day. What makes a story, ad or design, your own? Have you seen things in social media or at conferences that would make you and your company more successful? Have you woven ideas heard at a dinner gathering, conference, or neighborhood pool party into an award-winning product? Was there a mentor that opened doors for you? (Cheryl M).

Readers find it exceptionally relevant to today's debates:
I think Boyne is after bigger game than a clever send-up of writers, literary academe and the publishing industry, while raising a few philosophical questions along the way. He's holding up a mirror to human nature, but especially he's warning us: this is what the embodiment of evil looks like, here and now. Bystanders enable bullies; if we look away, silent, even for a moment or two, we do so at our peril (Janice P).

Nearly all readers commented on the book's main character:
This is a look into the twisted mind of a master manipulator (Suzette P), a wonderfully dark tale with an evil, ruthless protagonist (Susan S). Swift is the type of villain that readers love to hate (Anita P). The character is completely unscrupulous, and yet is able to use his charm and good looks to go after those who have what he most covets. Watching him entrap and manipulate the people he chooses to use is mesmerizing and still I was shocked at the depths to which he would go to achieve success (Julie G). I often find it difficult to read about someone I find unlikable, but in this instance I could not wait to see what he did next (Lynn W).

Most are fans of the author and found this novel compares well with his previous works:
Boyne is a gifted storyteller. He captures something essential about ambition here (Lorri S). He has a marvelous dry and dark humor, yet he can also write with such empathy and compassion; in my opinion he is one of the most accomplished authors writing today (Cheryl S). His The Heart's Invisible Furies was my favorite book last year and this one may be my favorite for this year (Anita P).

The comments about the book were glowing:

This tale of ambition run amok is compelling from beginning to end (Lorri S). This fast-paced and captivating book (Suzette P) is a thoroughly entertaining and fun read! (Julie M). I wondered at first if I could be enthusiastic about it, since it's so different from Boyne's others. The answer is yes (Janice P). I could not put the book down, and it remained riveting until the final page (Julie G).

Some didn't like the protagonist:
Sorry, but Swift and his attempts to gain notoriety in the literary world could not hold my interest (Freya H). I struggled to find redeeming qualities in the protagonist and simply never came up with anything. The plot tended to ramble with the extensive character development of Maurice Swift and his "acquaintances." I found myself often losing interest and longing to skip ahead to the end. The sexual overtones felt somewhat forced and lent themselves to the unpleasant character who is Mr. Swift (Liz B).

But overall our First Impression reviewers recommend the book:
If you are a reader for whom the phrase "wonderfully dark" resonates, then I highly recommend this extremely well-written, entertaining novel (Susan S). I think it would make an excellent book club selection (Amy W). I have already passed it along to my husband with a "you will love this" endorsement. Can I give it 6 stars? (Kenan R).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2018, and has been updated for the September 2019 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked A Ladder to the Sky, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for A Ladder to the Sky, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by John Boyne
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.