We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Mars Room

A Novel

by Rachel Kushner

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner X
The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2018, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2019, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In this tragicomic story of institutional woe, Kushner traces a woman's devolution from teenage delinquent to stripper to inmate, shining a light on America's poverty-to-prison pipeline.

There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The protagonist, 29-year-old Romy Hall, is an inmate at a Central Valley California facility called Stanville Prison, and used to be a stripper at the Mars Room, where she gave lap dances for $20 a song. During that time she once challenged a boyfriend who asked why she never went to college. She understood the subtext of the question: she was smart, so why did she take her clothes off for money? "You think it's a surprise a girl who works at a strip club is clever?" she asked. "Every stripper I know is clever." She goes on to remark that "he didn't understand about people who grew up in the city, the nihilism, the inability to go to college or join the straight world, get a regular job or believe in the future." This interaction highlights how The Mars Room is also an investigation into societal prejudices and stereotypes of perceived outsiders. There is an unbridgeable gap between these two characters' life experiences.

The city Romy references is early 2000s pre-gentrification San Francisco, where she grew up a drug-addled teen before becoming a stripper and a murderer. Romy narrates her troubled past and equally troubled present as an inmate. The story builds to a climax as the mitigating details of her actual crime emerge. Meanwhile, in intersecting narratives, Gordon Hauser, an English teacher at Stanville, grows inappropriately attached to Romy; a police officer-turned assassin reflects on his long, crooked career on the force; and a repeat offender on drug charges explains how much easier life is when one is incarcerated.

The characters of The Mars Room live in a moral gray area. Romy's crime is understandable but not excusable, and it is the system that is guilty of the most serious transgressions. The prison guards are negligent bureaucratic-minded drones who force one of Romy's fellow inmates to give birth on the floor. Romy's fellow prisoners are certainly not all pleasant people who have been railroaded (many of them behave abhorrently when a transgender inmate is transferred to Stanville), but they deserve better than the treatment they receive. The crooked cop is a racist, sexist murderer, but Kushner imbues him with just enough pathos and sheer stupidity to inspire sympathy. Romy's character is given particular depth as the novel explores how she was never given the chance to grow or thrive despite her obvious intelligence, and now, serving a life sentence, she likely never will be.

The settings are vivid and rendered with stirring pathos. When Romy reflects on the San Francisco of her youth, it is all "clammy fingers of fog working their way into our clothes," and populated by unsavory people called "Leatherman," a vagrant dressed entirely in leather, and "the Scummerz," a group of druggy punk rock squatters, among others. Romy depicts her ex-employer, the Mars Room, in comical terms that highlight its seediness: "If you'd showered you had a competitive edge at the Mars Room. If your tattoos weren't misspelled you were hot property. If you weren't five or six months pregnant, you were the it-girl in the club that night." These settings demonstrate how a person is a product of their environment – for better or worse. The English teacher lives in a cabin in the wilderness outside Stanville and evokes Thoreau while talking to a friend. The friend responds by mentioning the Unabomber, Ted Kaczynski (see 'Beyond the Book'). This is the moral dichotomy of the teacher's character: Is he the contemplative philosopher he would like to believe himself to be, or is he a crazed loon shunning society?

There is a wry irony that runs like a current through the book. Romy notes that in the prison woodshop, inmates are responsible for making "Judges' benches. Jury box seating. Courtroom gates. Witness stands. Lecterns. Judges' gavels. Paneling for Judges' quarters." and so on. The characters are trapped in this system in every aspect of their lives, to a Kafkaesque degree. The Mars Room is clever, instructive, darkly funny and unforgettable – a brilliant exploration of the gap between self-perception and societal judgment.

Reviewed by Lisa Butts

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2018, and has been updated for the May 2019 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Ted Kaczynski, The Unabomber

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Mars Room, try these:

  • Sugar Run jacket

    Sugar Run

    by Mesha Maren

    Published 2019

    About this book

    Set within the charged insularity of rural West Virginia, Sugar Run is a searing and gritty debut about making a run for another life.

  • An American Marriage jacket

    An American Marriage

    by Tayari Jones

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    An American Marriage is a masterpiece of storytelling, an intimate look deep into the souls of people who must reckon with the past while moving forward - with hope and pain - into the future.

We have 6 read-alikes for The Mars Room, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Rachel Kushner
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Atlas of Us
    The Atlas of Us
    by Kristin Dwyer
    Despite her name, Atlas James feels like she lacks a road map for her future. In the months since ...
  • Book Jacket: One Hour of Fervor
    One Hour of Fervor
    by Muriel Barbery
    Set during multiple decades across the turn of the 21st century, One Hour of Fervor follows Haru, a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Clytemnestra
by Costanza Casati
A feminist Greek retelling about the most notorious heroine of the ancient world and the events that forged her into a legendary queen.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Help Wanted
    by Adelle Waldman

    From the best-selling author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. comes a funny, eye-opening tale of work in contemporary America.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M T G Before I S

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.