MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Winter Sisters by Robin Oliveira

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Winter Sisters

by Robin Oliveira

Winter Sisters by Robin Oliveira X
Winter Sisters by Robin Oliveira
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2018, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2019, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Davida Chazan
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A rich and compelling historical novel about the disappearance of two young girls after a cataclysmic blizzard, and what happens when their fate is discovered.

Winter Sisters begins with an epic blizzard (see Beyond the Book) hitting the entire Northeast of the USA in January 1879. In upstate New York, Dr. Mary Sutter-Stipp refuses to believe that Claire and Emma O'Donnell, the daughters of her good friends who died in the storm, are anything but missing. Then, weeks after everyone, Mary included, have given them up for dead, the two girls suddenly turn up. Where they were and what they endured when they were missing may have more disastrous effects on the city than that fateful deadly storm and its subsequent ruinous flood.

I should mention here that this is essentially a sequel to Robin Oliveira's 2010 novel My Name is Mary Sutter, which I have not read. Mary is a midwife as the novel begins, but wants to be a surgeon and so, against many odds, she travels to Washington DC to tend to wounded Civil War soldiers and fulfill her dream. While I noticed a couple of holes here and there regarding some recurring characters, I didn't feel like I'd missed much by jumping straight to Winter Sisters. However, the novel takes a while to find its stride, making the first few chapters drag a bit. But when Oliveira brings us to Emma and Claire, things really pick up and I was enrapt until nearly the end of the book. The very ending feels a bit too subdued in atmosphere, with some overly simplified and convenient ways of tying up the loose ends.

Oliveira employs all the basic mechanics of a thriller here, starting with a tragedy – the blizzard and the disappearance of the two girls. From there, she carefully fleshes out the story, while pumping up the pace until we're practically on the edges of our seats to find out what happens next. This is exactly what a good thriller should do, and Oliveira sweeps us along to one climax then shifts down only to throw us a second one, before moving towards the conclusion.

Oliveira's style of writing fits the era quite nicely, with a certain level of propriety that stops well short of being stodgy. Without being overly lyrical or poetic, she draws a picture of Albany with many well-placed hints and carefully drawn descriptions of various locations that complement the story and characters. Mind you, some of the characters here are far from respectable, and the voices that Oliveira gives them reflect their social status perfectly. In fact, there was one person that I particularly fell in love with, despite the cliché of her being a "whore with a heart of gold." If Oliveira is thinking of writing a third book in this series, I would respectfully suggest that her next major protagonist be this character!

I truly enjoyed Winter Sisters; it is very well written, has sympathetic characters (and hateful antagonists), and a riveting (if sometimes unpleasant) plot. I think it deserves a solid four out of five stars.

Reviewed by Davida Chazan

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in April 2018, and has been updated for the February 2019 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.