Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews In Pursuit of Memory by Joseph Jebelli

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In Pursuit of Memory

The Fight Against Alzheimer's

by Joseph Jebelli

In Pursuit of Memory by Joseph Jebelli X
In Pursuit of Memory by Joseph Jebelli
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 2017, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Research neuroscientist Joseph Jebelli gives a thorough survey of the history of Alzheimer's and the development of our efforts to treat and even prevent it.

Debut author and neuroscientist Joseph Jebelli has a personal stake in the fight against Alzheimer's disease: his beloved grandfather, Abbas, succumbed to it back in Iran in 2012 after seven years of slipping into strange and forgetful behavior. With the world's population aging, it is expected that by 2050 Alzheimer's will be the second leading cause of death after heart disease. What to do in the face of what Jebelli calls a "global and inescapable epidemic"? You might expect a book like this to be depressing, but instead it is reassuring to see how our understanding of dementia and the genetics of diseases has advanced in the last century (see 'Beyond the Book') and just how many research avenues are open and promising.

Alzheimer's disease is so named after its discoverer, German psychiatrist Alois Alzheimer. When he presented his findings in November 1906, he had been studying his fifty-something patient Auguste Deter for four years. "I have, so to speak, lost myself," she would often say to him. Her memory loss and paranoia fit with physicians' previous understanding of dementia, but her younger age and the particular changes in her brain discovered in a post-mortem revealed novel variations. Two distinct markers of the Alzheimer's brain, along with an overall loss of brain tissue mass, are plaques – dark areas between nerves – formed of tangled cell surface proteins called beta-amyloid. The average life span with the disease is just eight years from diagnosis.

In the century or so since Alois Alzheimer's work, there have been various theories about what triggers the disease. John Hardy of University College London hypothesized that the beta-amyloid plaques come first and other symptoms follow, whereas Allen Roses of Duke University pointed to a surprising connection with liver protein APOE4, which interferes with blood sugar uptake and thereby deprives the brain of energy. There has even been an attempt to make an Alzheimer's vaccine, though Dale Schenk's two clinical trials failed at the phase 3 stage, in 2002 and 2012. It was also reported in 2012 that a skin cancer drug had moderate success in treating Alzheimer's. So there are numerous scientific routes available to neurology researchers, and despite the many setbacks new ideas are always in the pipeline.

Along with tracing the history of our knowledge of Alzheimer's and speaking with scientists who are at work on treatments, Jebelli spends time with ordinary people with the disease, such as Carol Jennings. In 1986 Jennings wrote to St. Mary's Hospital, London, offering her family for research purposes. Dementia had affected her father and two of his siblings. At this point it wasn't known whether Alzheimer's was genetic, but the Jennings family was a useful case study that contributed to the discovery of an "Alzheimer's gene." Jennings devoted 30 years of her life to promoting research and awareness, but then succumbed herself. By the time Jebelli met her in 2015, the change in her mind was stark: "Here, in front of me, was a woman who had transformed our understanding of the disease...Now, she was scarcely able to say its name."

Jebelli's writing style is comparable to that of Siddhartha Mukherjee, Ed Yong and Atul Gawande. His prose is perhaps not quite as lively and literary as theirs, but his book's importance outweighs any minor infelicities of style. What matters most is that he conveys scientific facts in a clear way the layman can understand; in addition, as in Mukherjee's The Gene, he balances history and research with a personal medical story almost any reader can relate to. It's easy to feel overwhelmed about Alzheimer's given that it may one day affect one in three people, but Jebelli is hopeful: he believes we will see a cure in our lifetimes, and significant progress within perhaps as little as a decade. Even those who don't normally choose popular science or medical-themed books owe it to themselves to read this.

Reviewed by Rebecca Foster

This review first ran in the November 15, 2017 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked In Pursuit of Memory, try these:

  • One Puzzling Afternoon jacket

    One Puzzling Afternoon

    by Emily Critchley

    Published 2023

    About this book

    A mystery she can't remember. A friend she can't forget.

  • In Love jacket

    In Love

    by Amy Bloom

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    Winner of the 2022 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    This powerful memoir by New York Times bestselling author Amy Bloom is an illuminating story of two people whose love and shared life experiences led them to find a courageous way to part - and of a woman's struggle to go forward in the face of loss.

We have 11 read-alikes for In Pursuit of Memory, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.