Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Pachinko

by Min Jin Lee

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee X
Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2017, 496 pages

    Paperback:
    Nov 2017, 512 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Pachinko is a lush, expansive historical saga that explores the effects of world events and personal decisions on multiple generations of one Korean family.

Pachinko has one of the best opening lines I've encountered in some time: "History has failed us, but no matter." It's an unexpectedly cynical start to a historical novel, suggesting that every generation has to recreate itself after the letdown of the last one. For this fictional family, the pessimism is partially justified: although the specific challenges vary from one generation to another, being Korean in a foreign country is an ongoing struggle.

The novel opens in 1910, the year Japan annexed Korea, with an almost folktale-like scenario: in Yeongdo district, in the South Korean city of Busan, a fisherman and his wife have four sons, but only Hoonie, who has a cleft palate and clubfoot, survives. Hoonie marries and dies shortly thereafter leaving his 13-year-old daughter Sunja, and her mother, to run the family boardinghouse. During the hard winter of 1932, the sixteen-year-old Sunja becomes pregnant, but refuses to reveal the identity of the father - Koh Hansu. Hansu, a rich Korean businessman who meets Sunja while working in Busan, has a wife and children back in Japan, his adopted country, and so cannot marry Sunja. Instead, one of the boarding house guests, Presbyterian minister Baek Isak, comes to the rescue— he sympathizes with Sunja's predicament and offers to take her to Osaka as his wife.

Japan will be the family base for the next half-century or more, even though Koreans are treated as second-class citizens there. Isak and Sunja move in with his brother and sister-in-law in a squalid ghetto in Osaka. Soon Noa is born and, six years later, Mozasu. Sunja and her sister-in-law start selling homemade kimchi and black sugar candy for extra money. The family's prospects are a mixture of good and horrible: a restaurateur hires Sunja and her sister-in-law and gives them a generous salary, but Isak and his fellow churchmen are arrested for insufficient devotion to the Emperor, who, at that time, was considered divine.

As World War II closes in, the family escapes the coming bombardment of Japan's cities by sheltering on a sweet potato farm out in the countryside. Afterwards, they consider returning to famine-ridden Korea, but a fellow native warns them: "For people like us, home doesn't exist." Mozasu quits school and becomes a foreman at a pachinko parlor (see 'Beyond the Book'), while Noa goes to university in Tokyo.

Although some of the central events of the novel, like World War II and the atomic bomb drop at Nagasaki, are familiar territory for fiction, Lee prioritizes out-of-the-ordinary perspectives: her Korean characters are first the colonized, and then the outsiders trying to thrive in a foreign country despite segregation and persecution. Those who can pass for Japanese have the best chance for success, so Koreans like Noa pretend to be Japanese. Food, language, names, dress, and manners all take on extra significance in this context: you can tell whether the characters are proud or ashamed of their Korean origins by what they let others see. Will they take on new names and try to get rid of their accent? Or will they proudly eat kimchi and talk about their former life in Korea?

In the acknowledgments, Lee writes that the idea for this novel came in 1989, when she heard the story of a middle-schooler in Japan who committed suicide after being bullied for his Korean background. Lee herself was born in South Korea and moved to the United States with her family when she was seven. I wondered to what extent two of the young people in the novel's 1980s storyline shared her experience. The novel is an intriguing glimpse at how stories that start in the same place can diverge wildly.

Much as I enjoyed this generational saga, it went downhill in Part III. Here the novel speeds up, jumping ahead several years with every chapter and lurching from one melodramatic occurrence to another. Overall, I felt less of an emotional connection to this youngest generation. Sunja's early relationship with Hansu and the time on the sweet potato farm were my favorite parts, and nothing that followed felt quite as interesting. Still, I was eager to find out what would happen to all of the members of this clan. I recommend Pachinko to readers of family sagas and anyone who wants to learn more about the Korean experience.

Reviewed by Rebecca Foster

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2017, and has been updated for the January 2018 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Pachinko

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Pachinko, try these:

  • Daughters of Shandong jacket

    Daughters of Shandong

    by Eve J. Chung

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A propulsive, extraordinary novel about a mother and her daughters' harrowing escape to Taiwan as the Communist revolution sweeps through China, by debut author Eve J. Chung, based on her family story.

  • Real Americans jacket

    Real Americans

    by Rachel Khong

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the award-winning author of Goodbye, Vitamin: How far would you go to shape your own destiny? An exhilarating novel of American identity that spans three generations in one family and asks: What makes us who we are? And how inevitable are our futures?

We have 15 read-alikes for Pachinko, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Min Jin Lee
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.