Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winters

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Underground Airlines

by Ben H. Winters

Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winters X
Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2016, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2017, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Gary Presley
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


It is the present day and the world is much as we know it - except the Civil War never occurred.

Ben Winters imagines a different history for the United States in Underground Airlines by changing the time of a single precipitous event: the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. In Winters's alternate history there was no Civil War, and Lincoln's assassination in Indianapolis on the way to his inauguration was "the martyrdom that saved the union." His death sparked a political compromise. The United States remained a union, but one with slave states and slavery-tolerating states, a situation similar in some respects to the U.S. circa 1850, where the escape of a slave to a free state did not guarantee freedom. Blood was shed, though – a "long and brutal Texas War" dwindled the number of slave states down so that today there are just the "Hard Four."

Where there is slavery, there must be escapees, or runners. And where there are runners, there must be pursuers, or soul-catchers. Told in the present-day, Victor, born a slave, works now as a soul-catcher in the employ of the U.S. Marshal's Service which enforces the Fugitive Persons Law. It's an interesting world Victor roams. Euphemisms and acronyms disguise ugliness. Slaves are "Persons Bound to Labor (PBLs)". The U.S. has an Internal Border and Regulations Department to control traffic into and from the Hard Four. The non-slave holding U.S. has a Clean Hand Law to control imports of slave-made goods. There's also a Conference of Slave Holding Organizations, and thousands of slaves – PBLs – work for mega-corporations like Garments of the Greater South, Inc. (GGSI), in Orwellian self-contained facilities.

Victor narrates the story, which unfolds at a readable pace, focused by knots of tension. His latest assignment is to pursue Jackdaw, an escapee from GGSI. In Indianapolis, Victor approaches a Catholic priest thought to be an agent of the Underground Airline (a modern-day version of the Underground Railroad.) From there, Victor descends into a labyrinth of intrigue and duplicity, a narrative highlighting more than one nuanced character – the pale, quiet Catholic priest has a different personality than his appearance suggests; Martha, an anxious, demanding young woman; her son Lionel, a young child born after a love affair with an escaped slave; and Victor's supervisor, Bridge, "cold and unbending like iron, with a hint of a southern accent coming up off his voice like the whisper of smoke from a gun barrel." There are also flashbacks to Victor's youth as a child PBL in a slaughtering plant.

Winters creates a complex and compelling character in Victor. He is self-aware, but closed off; bitter behind a bland façade. But he is also an insightful man, one growing in empathy for the PBLs and in his comprehension of the capacity for evil within good men. The latter becomes evident, not so much in Victor's search for Jackdaw, but later when he stumbles on material that will expose a Hard Four program more evil than slavery.

Winters's portrait of Indianapolis, where most of the action of Underground Airlines occurs, is fascinating, especially when he uses the weather and depressed neighborhoods to reflect the ugliness of slavery and the ambivalence of Victor's mindset. The novel is full of allegory and symbolism – and irony too - for instance, Texas and its Hispanic population break away from the U.S. because of slavery. Through these literary devices, Winters also explores how a faceless corporate oligarchy can warp the social and economic progress of the U.S.; the hypocrisy of international relations; and implicit segregation driven by racial prejudice. There's a mention of FDR in this intriguing alternate history, and some minor discussion of foreign perception of slavery influencing trade and other factors, but Winter avoids delving into the influence of slavery on world-changing events like the World Wars, Korea, Vietnam and the Cold War, and the Great Depression.

Fans of alternate history will want this for their libraries. Those new to the genre could find no better book to explore the concept.

Reviewed by Gary Presley

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2016, and has been updated for the August 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Underground Railroad

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Underground Airlines, try these:

  • Cahokia Jazz jacket

    Cahokia Jazz

    by Francis Spufford

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    From "one of the most original minds in contemporary literature" (Nick Hornby) the bestselling and award-winning author of Golden Hill delivers a noirish detective novel set in the 1920s that reimagines how American history would be different if, instead of being decimated, indigenous populations had thrived.

  • The Underground Railroad jacket

    The Underground Railroad

    by Colson Whitehead

    Published 2018

    About this book

    More by this author

    From prize-winning, bestselling author Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South

We have 5 read-alikes for Underground Airlines, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Ben Winters
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.