We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes by Anna McPartlin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes

by Anna McPartlin

The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes by Anna McPartlin X
The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes by Anna McPartlin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2015, 368 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2016, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A moving and uplifting story about family and the things that matter most, brought into sharp focus by imminent death.

Rabbit Hayes has a limited time to live but that just means she and her family find extra concentrated doses of joy and happiness to be savored. This story of a young mother resonated with BookBrowse readers with 11 out of 14 reviewers giving it a full five stars.

Debbie Downer? Not quite

The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes is the story of a young woman who is dying. It is about a family and how they get through this heart-wrenching emotional stage of their lives (Maggie S).

As a breast cancer survivor, I was not sure I could see it through. Several times I put it down, not wanting to face what had to be coming - but I am ever so glad that I went back to finish. This is a rich and rewarding book in many ways (Susie J).

To my pleasant surprise, The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes is a well told story - not about dying, but about living until you die (Karen J).

As soon as I read the first page, I debated whether to continue or not. I didn't know how I would fare with this type of book, but I made a commitment to read and review this novel, and I am so glad that I did. Beautiful, heart-wrenching, funny, sentimental are only some of the words that I can use to describe this wonderful, wonderful book. Using such an ugly subject matter and making it into this, is nothing short of miraculous (Barbara B).

Family Ties Resonate

The theme of family and friends is developed throughout in honest and realistic terms, and this reader found herself becoming part of both groups (Susie J).

Although the book was very difficult to read, through all of my tears, I fell in love with every one of the characters. It is a real family with all of the love and anger and forgiveness and laughter that make a family what it is (Maggie S).

Lessons Learned

There are lessons to be learned from this family's grace and humor. The book resonated with me as I lost a sister to cancer. It rang true to the upheaval in emotions and the need for family to circle their wagons (Donna M).

The universal themes of death and dying and coming to grips with saying goodbye to a loved one are grounded in the specific details of a specific person in modern day Ireland (Kathleen W). What I love the very best about this book is the author's strong affirmation of both life and death, and the indelible link between the two (Susie J).

Too Depressing for Some

I just didn't want to read any more about this young mother with a 12-year-old child and a wonderful supportive family, dying. I just didn't feel like crying through another 150 pages. This book is not for the faint of heart — but perhaps someone who has cared for a loved on in their final days would enjoy it (Amy W).

In the End, Surprisingly Uplifting for Most

Once you accept the fact that Rabbit Hayes is going to die of cancer, it leaves you free to enjoy the close relationships she has with her entire family. This book is more about family and less about dying. In the end, it was uplifting in a way I didn't see coming (Dannielle I).

Not many novels can have you crying on one page and laughing on the next. Also the characters are wonderful, funny, flawed (Diane S).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2015, and has been updated for the September 2016 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Uplifting Books

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes, try these:

  • Being Mortal jacket

    Being Mortal

    by Atul Gawande

    Published 2017

    About this book

    More by this author

    In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending

  • Mimi Malloy, At Last! jacket

    Mimi Malloy, At Last!

    by Julia MacDonnell

    Published 2015

    About this book

    Mimi Malloy, At Last! is an unforgettable novel, alive with humor, unexpected romance, and the magic of hard-earned insight: a poignant reminder that it's never too late to fall in love and that one can always come of age a second time.

We have 5 read-alikes for The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.