BookBrowse Reviews Land of Love and Drowning by Tiphanie Yanique

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Land of Love and Drowning

by Tiphanie Yanique

Land of Love and Drowning by Tiphanie Yanique X
Land of Love and Drowning by Tiphanie Yanique
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2014, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2015, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This debut novel explores the effect of the history of the Virgin Islands on one native family.

Tiphanie Yanique's bold debut novel Land of Love and Drowning does for the Virgin Islands what Gabriel Garcia Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude did for Colombia: it captures its spirit, delivers the soul of the place into being. Yanique's intimate storytelling comes from personal experience: she grew up on the islands and draws from her family history for some of the plot elements. Suffused with rich imagery, Land of Love and Drowning is a fantasy of character, place and history. Steeped in the rich tradition of Caribbean and South American storytelling, it is also a brilliant evocation of magical realism.

Yanique's novel spans the 20th century, telling both the story of three generations of the fated Bradshaw family as well as the saga of United States Virgin Islands history (see Beyond the Book). At the start of the novel, the Bradshaws are wealthy and connected, living in the Frenchtown district. The Islands, bought by the U.S. in 1917, slowly get taken over by the Americans, and the Bradshaws' fortunes begin to decline.

The young Bradshaw sisters Eeona and Anette have their lives sheared off from a secure course when they are orphaned. The siblings are left struggling, but the change is hardest on Eeona, who not only misses her parents but the life their money afforded her. Anette, a red-headed firebrand, charts her own path, spurning her sister's entreaties to act more like a lady. She embraces the opportunity of becoming a history teacher. The sisters represent the past and the future of the Virgin Islands, with Eeona grasping desperately to a genteel, privileged life behind her and Anette grabbing the future. Neither has easy roads to traverse. Though the novel also explores the lives of the sister's parents and Anette's children, the majority of the story is about the two siblings and their search for understanding — of themselves and of each other.

As the girls grow older, the benefit of the Americanization of the island becomes difficult to discern. As officers in the army, Anette's boyfriends experience racism for the first time, presenting the idea of racial stratification to an island traditionally classified by wealth. This new concept is felt by the fashionable women, who, not wanting to be considered "black," sit in the shade to keep their skin from darkening further in the sun. To make the distinctions between white Americans and black islanders more stark, wealthy Americans buy sections of beachfront and close it to the public. The notion of the island belonging to the people who live there is pushed aside in the name of private property laws. The final scenes suggest that the true heart of the islands can only be found in its most remote locations. American culture and tourism have unmoored most of the land from the native way of life.

While the novel explores the impact of the islands' history on the Bradshaw family, the story is not pure historical fiction. Yanique's incorporation of magical realism and her ability to tie the Virgin Islands' mythical tales into her narrative, creates fantastical imagery that build mood and atmosphere. The sensory descriptions and the characters' deep sense of place cement the vibrant scenes for the reader, but the addition of magical realism elements — one character has a cleft foot, another has beauty more radiant than a mermaid — transforms the narrative from passive writing into animated storytelling. We hear as well as see the characters' stories. The effect is transcendent.

Yanique's brilliant storytelling, her artful intertwining of history and folklore into the lives of her dynamic characters, is an artistic feat. Land of Love and Drowning is destined to be a classic.

This review was originally published in August 2014, and has been updated for the July 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.