Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Hundred-Year House by Rebecca Makkai

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Hundred-Year House

by Rebecca Makkai

The Hundred-Year House by Rebecca Makkai X
The Hundred-Year House by Rebecca Makkai
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2014, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2015, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Exploring the relevance of art and the importance of second chances, The Hundred-Year House is a puzzle that is worth unraveling.

Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled House of a Hundred Secrets. The story centers on Laurelfield, a country estate in Chicago's North Shore, and is set in three time periods — 1999, 1956, and 1929 — in that order.

Though the novel starts in 1999, the true story of Laurelfield begins in 1900 when August Devohr built the house for his wife Violet, who shortly thereafter killed herself in its attic. Violet's beauty and sadness, coupled with her enigmatic death infuses the house with mystery. This sort of drama is not uncommon in the Devohr family, whose insanity, irresponsibility with money, and penchant for divorce is widely known. By the 1920s, the Devohrs leave Laurelfield and relegate it to artists, making the estate a refuge for writers and painters. However, by the late 1950s, Laurelfield has again been reclaimed by the Devohr family, more specifically by Violet's granddaughter Grace. The hows and whys of these transferrals — from Devohrs to the artists and back — is one of the plot propellers. As the novel delves deeper into the history of Laurelfield, uncovering secrets about the Devohrs and the artists at the colony, the reader is plunged into a complicated world where nothing is what it seems.

In the beginning, we see Grace's daughter, Zee, struggling with her husband Doug. His efforts to write a scholarly work based on the poetry of Edwin Parfitt — a one-time resident of the Laurelfield artist colony — have left Doug discouraged. He's taken to ghostwriting young adult fiction in secret. Unable to talk to Zee about his frustration, he finds a friend in Miriam, an artist, also living at Laurelfield. In the 1956 section, finding connection in marriage and yearning for greater understanding is also at issue. Grace struggles with her decision to stay married to the abusive George. Both these early narratives reference the 1929 artist colony, raising questions that are answered in the end. The last part explores issues of connection through art and the importance of second chances.

The three sections are so different from each other that they almost function as linked short stories. Some characters, such as Grace, appear in more than one, but the primary glue of the novel is theme: how does one find solidarity with others; how art brings people together; the opportunity and burden of second chances. Makkai persistently analyzes this notion of personal improvement, of altering course in the middle of life.

Though The Hundred-Year House is described as a "ghost story told in reverse," there is little frightening about the characters or their story. If there is any "haunting," the novel suggests, it is the ghosts of previous choices, of paths not taken. Any magic the house exerts relates to helping the residents find their true purpose by merely nudging them in the direction they should be going. However, this pull is not always positive. As Grace points out, the house dispenses good and bad luck in equal measure. She fails to qualify that some get all good, while others get all bad.

The novel's unique structure and its vibrant characters make for active, exciting reading. Questions raised in one section are answered in others, creating a reading experience that might have you flipping back and forth through the pages. Makkai's sense of humor creates funny moments (the artists' drinking escapades) that offset more dismal ones (Grace's struggle with her husband). The Hundred-Year House is a puzzle, a plunge into a world of fascinating characters, and an examination of human relationships. It is not to be missed.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2014, and has been updated for the June 2015 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Yaddo Artists' Retreat

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Hundred-Year House, try these:

  • Weathering jacket

    Weathering

    by Lucy Wood

    Published 2017

    About this book

    A dreamlike tale tale that explores big topics - belonging, mortality, love - though the lives of three women (one who is dead), and old house, and a river....

  • Bellweather Rhapsody jacket

    Bellweather Rhapsody

    by Kate Racculia

    Published 2015

    About this book

    More by this author

    A high school music festival goes awry when a young prodigy disappears from a hotel room that was the site of a famous murder/suicide fifteen years earlier.

We have 5 read-alikes for The Hundred-Year House, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Rebecca Makkai
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.