BookBrowse Reviews Enduring Courage by John F. Ross

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Enduring Courage

Ace Pilot Eddie Rickenbacker and the Dawn of the Age of Speed

by John F. Ross

Enduring Courage
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2014, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2015, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

At the turn of the twentieth century two new technologies - the car and airplane - burst onto the American scene. At the hot center of them both was Eddie Rickenbacker. Enduring Courage is his story.

Enduring Courage, by John F. Ross, is a huge hit with BookBrowse readers. 15 out of 17 reviews gave it a 4 or a 5. Why were pages flying, and why are readers so mesmerized with ace pilot Eddie Rickenbacker?

In Enduring Courage, John F. Ross provides a vivid portrait of the utterly amazing Eddie Rickenbacker, who was forever at the center of action throughout his long life. Rickenbacker's resume included that of a successful race car driver in the early 1900s, America's top flying ace in WWI, and some 24 harrowing days adrift at sea in WWII. Not only is this a thrilling tale of bravery and perseverance, but Ross also presents a window into eras of time that have long gone by (David M). The book chronicles more than just the life of Eddie Rickenbacker. It's an amazing journey through the history of car racing and the rapid evolution of the airplane (Mary Lou C). I've lived in Iowa my ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Eddie Rickenbacker

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.