MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Love and Treasure by Ayelet Waldman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love and Treasure

by Ayelet Waldman

Love and Treasure by Ayelet Waldman X
Love and Treasure by Ayelet Waldman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2015, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucy Rock
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


With one precious necklace as anchor, Love and Treasure explores a vital part of Holocaust history without resorting to gratuitous violence or melodrama.

Grainy photographs of tormented prisoners and piles of skeletal corpses often dominate modern memory of the Holocaust — a tragedy of unimaginable depth not just for the Jews of Europe but for the entire world. Most of us are all too familiar with the stories of suffering that pepper the first half of the 20th century. It is therefore hugely refreshing when we can glance out of our sphere of knowledge and look at this history from an entirely different angle.

A fresh perspective is precisely what author Ayelet Waldman has given us in Love and Treasure. The year is 1945. In a war-torn corner of Austria, Jack Wiseman and his fellow American GIs stumble across a freight train bound for Hungary filled with jewels and furs down to the most humble of worldly possessions — all items stolen from murdered Hungarian Jews.

Rather stereotypically, caught up in this great tragedy is great love. During an altercation with the train's captors, Jack meets and eventually falls for Ilona, a concentration camp survivor searching for her sister. In his bid to find anything that might belong to her family, Jack stumbles across an enamel necklace depicting a bright peacock, in the looted goods. The peacock is an omen auguring bad luck in Hungary but the necklace is an object that will draw the strands of Waldman's sweeping tale together.

From Jack's narrative we jump to the present day, following his granddaughter Natalie who, bequeathed the striking necklace and mindful of her grandfather's final wish to return it to its rightful owner, is determined to do just that. Her companion on this mission is a young art dealer who seeks his own treasure: a disturbing portrait whose subject wears the same necklace around her neck.

Waldman then transports us back to earlier times — to the lives of Hungarian Jews before the war, quite oblivious of their ghastly fate. Here we explore Budapest and meet the original owner of this very special piece of jewelry. We experience this pre-war society through the eyes of young suffragist Nina and it is through her that the final dramatic portion of this tale is unraveled.

This is a multi-faceted, sensitively handled piece of historical fiction. Mindful of the very real tragedies that are its inspiration we explore an aspect of the destruction of European Jewry that we might otherwise overlook - i.e. the "stuff" left behind. Out of the millions of people who died, what happened to their beloved possessions? Engaging works of literature such as this can go some way in ensuring that people know.

A surprising amount is squeezed into a modest number of pages. Tackling themes such as the Holocaust and its aftermath and the Suffragist movement, Love and Treasure could have easily become bogged down or merely skimmed the surface. Waldman, however, avoids this trap; everything here has its purpose. Even death and destruction are dealt with in a subtle fashion — with the most horrific incidents having already happened or occurring off-screen — making the novel all the more powerful and allowing room for reflection.

However, although the three-part narrative refreshes us with something a little different every one hundred pages or so, the stark contrast between each section's voices, themes and mood felt a little jarring. This was particularly true of the contemporary portion that separates the two period pieces. Shifting from old-fashioned courting and flouncy dresses to mobile phones and casual sex required a serious mental adjustment in this reader.

That having been said, most elements of this stimulating novel are there for a very good reason. The Holocaust often proves to be literary gold dust as authors explore the reactions of human beings forced into situations far beyond their control. The characters here hold up to circumstance, with their shortcomings becoming an essential part of the story. Ayelet Waldman has had great success in her writing career, and I can safely say that Love and Treasure has the vivacity and courage to reach lofty heights as well.

Reviewed by Lucy Rock

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2014, and has been updated for the February 2015 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Hungarian Gold Train

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Cartier's Hope
    by M. J. Rose

    A Gilded Age gem of ambition & betrayal from the author of New York Times bestseller, Tiffany Blues.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.