BookBrowse Reviews The Taste of Apple Seeds by Katharina Hagena

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Taste of Apple Seeds

by Katharina Hagena

The Taste of Apple Seeds
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2014, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer G Wilder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Katharina Hagena's international bestseller, The Taste of Apple Seeds, is a story of love and loss that will captivate your heart

Katharina Hagena's The Taste of Apple Seeds is a peculiar little jewel of a book, a lyrical family novel in which a young German woman named Iris inherits her grandmother's house. The story is not a plot-driven cloak-and-dagger mystery, nor is it full of car chases or supernatural villains - the novel is focused primarily on the unspooling of Iris's memories. As she explores the old North German farmhouse after her grandmother's death, she sifts through family lore and revisits the pivotal events of her youth. She is looking for patterns everywhere - in the drawers of her grandfather's desk, in the stones of the terrace floor, and in the order of the books of the shelves. Hagena pulls the reader along with a thread of suspense as fine and tenacious as a cobweb. As Iris's thoughts circle ever closer to the facts of her own life, and in particular the tragedy that befell ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  A Taste of Northern Germany

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.