BookBrowse Reviews The Taste of Apple Seeds by Katharina Hagena

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Taste of Apple Seeds

by Katharina Hagena

The Taste of Apple Seeds
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2014, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer G Wilder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Katharina Hagena's international bestseller, The Taste of Apple Seeds, is a story of love and loss that will captivate your heart

Katharina Hagena's The Taste of Apple Seeds is a peculiar little jewel of a book, a lyrical family novel in which a young German woman named Iris inherits her grandmother's house. The story is not a plot-driven cloak-and-dagger mystery, nor is it full of car chases or supernatural villains - the novel is focused primarily on the unspooling of Iris's memories. As she explores the old North German farmhouse after her grandmother's death, she sifts through family lore and revisits the pivotal events of her youth. She is looking for patterns everywhere - in the drawers of her grandfather's desk, in the stones of the terrace floor, and in the order of the books of the shelves. Hagena pulls the reader along with a thread of suspense as fine and tenacious as a cobweb. As Iris's thoughts circle ever closer to the facts of her own life, and in particular the tragedy that befell ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  A Taste of Northern Germany

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.