BookBrowse Reviews An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

An Unnecessary Woman

by Rabih Alameddine

An Unnecessary Woman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Naomi Benaron

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An Unnecessary Woman is a love letter to literature and its power to define who we are.

"You could say I was thinking of other things when I shampooed my hair blue, and two glasses of red wine didn't help my concentration," says Aaliyah Sohbi. So begins Rabih Alameddine's novel An Unnecessary Woman: a love affair, an impassioned tribute to music and art, to Aaliyah's beloved city of Beirut, where the story is set, and, above all, to her one great passion in life, books. The story, written as a first person address, is set in present-day Beirut, spanning the space between Christmas and New Year's Day. Inside this timeframe, we follow Aaliyah as she reminiscences about her life, the life of her city, and the troubled history of Lebanon's fifteen-year civil war (see Beyond the Book) and ensuing conflicts with "its sister pigmy state," Israel.

Aaliyah, seventy-two, lives in a tiny, run-down apartment filled with books, a few sparse furnishings, and a collection of "various ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Lebanon's Civil War

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.