BookBrowse Reviews The Lion in the Lei Shop by Kaye Starbird

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lion in the Lei Shop

by Kaye Starbird

The Lion in the Lei Shop
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2013, 276 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 292 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Originally published in 1970 and reissued for a new generation of readers as part of renowned librarian Nancy Pearl's Book Lust Rediscoveries series, The Lion in the Lei Shop gives a rarely heard voice to the women and children of Pearl Harbor.

The Lion in the Lei Shop by Kaye Starbird is a hit with BookBrowse readers. All 18 reviewers gave it 4 or 5 stars! They have much praise for this book that was first published in 1970:

This novel is one of a group of out-of-print books selected for reprinting by NPR's Nancy Pearl. April and her 5-year-old daughter Marty are living in Hawaii with April's soldier husband Lang on December 7, 1941 when Pearl Harbor is bombed. Lang is pulled away to military duties, while his wife and daughter are moved around the island for their safety and then shipped home. The Lion in the Lei Shop, told in the voices of April and Marty, retells the events of the bombing and the war years spent in April's native New England. Author Kaye Starbird does a beautiful job of contrasting the memories of events held by April and Marty, and of highlighting the nature of memory itself. She also portrays the pain ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.