BookBrowse Reviews Fever by Mary Beth Keane

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fever
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2013, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Fever is Mary Beth Keane's ambitious retelling of the life of Mary Mallon - Typhoid Mary - a fiercely compelling, sympathetic, uncompromising, and unforgettable heroine.

Mary Beth Keane's Fever is a hit with BookBrowse readers. 22 out of 23 reviewers gave it 4 or 5 stars. Here is what they say about the book that puts a real face to the name Typhoid Mary:

Heart-wrenching and dark but I was unable to put the book down. Amidst the churning and changing of bustling New York City, Mary is trying to find understanding and meaning and some element of peace in a world where she unwittingly has become an angel of death (Paul R). This novel is the story of a two-fold love: Mary's love of cooking and of the ne'er-do-well Alfred, her long-time companion. This fictionalized account of Mary depicts her as a strong immigrant woman who battled for a better life for herself (Kathleen S). The book and the character, Mary, are both unforgettable (Jean N).

Keane doesn't hesitate to make Mary the contradictory and wonderfully complex character that she truly was:

...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  A Short History of Typhoid

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.