BookBrowse Reviews The Dream Merchant by Fred Waitzkin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dream Merchant

by Fred Waitzkin

The Dream Merchant
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Mar 2013, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

With similarities to The Great Gatsby, this debut novel explores the dichotomies that the relentless pursuit of money presents and reminds us that there are no easy moral judgments to be made

Fred Waitzkin (Searching for Bobby Fischer), explores the underbelly of financial ambition in his debut novel, The Dream Merchant. Jim is the consummate salesman: gracious, persevering, and persuasive. Behind this cultivated exterior and wealthy lifestyle, though, is a greedy extortionist. Jim's story is pieced together through conversations with an admiring, anonymous friend, who has decided to write Jim's biography. When the friend begins research for the biography, Jim has fallen on hard times. He has left his wife for a young Israeli woman, who keeps him captivated by sex. Jim keeps her interested by telling stories from his younger days when he was a millionaire salesman and a gold mine operator in Brazil. The anonymous writer watches Jim "sell" to Mara his ability to make money from nothing. As he speaks, he creates dreams for her that keep her from focusing on the tattered ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Fraudulent Money-Making Schemes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.