BookBrowse Reviews Harvest by Jim Crace

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Harvest

by Jim Crace

Harvest
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2013, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2013, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Guidarini

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In what might be his final novel, Jim Crace paints an utterly compelling story about an English village on the cusp of change and shows us how change is inevitably a gut-wrenching process.

Upon publication of Harvest, Jim Crace announced he is putting down his pen. Having published thirteen books, and winning many awards (including the Whitbread Prize three times), Crace, like Philip Roth before him, plans to move on.

The title of his final novel is apropos of both the theme of the story and the end of his writing career. It's symbolic of the work he's reaped in nearly thirty years of writing and the harsh reality of the new world order faced by his characters. The "harvest," in both cases, represents the end of one way of life and the start of another.

Even though Jim Crace says that the setting and time of this novel are deliberately vague, Harvest would appear to be set in an insular medieval English village, probably around the 15th or 16th centuries when English wool became big business. The book opens during the final days of the yearly harvest, the villagers ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.