BookBrowse Reviews The Afrika Reich by Guy Saville

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Afrika Reich

by Guy Saville

The Afrika Reich by Guy Saville
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2013, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2015, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Heather A Phillips

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In the action-packed The Afrika Reich, Guy Saville imagines an alternate history in which the Battle of Dunkirk was lost to the Nazis.

History has many turning points, some so subtle as to be unnoticeable, others so clear as to be signposts around which the march through time pivots. The Battle of Dunkirk is one of these points. Had it gone another way, the Allies would have never coalesced into an anti-Axis alliance, and World War II would have been over – and had a very different outcome – before it really even started. Works of alternate history explore these world events and impress upon us how important they have been. They allow us to see such turning points in a new light, and help us understand that there are times and places upon which the course of history really does depend.

In The Afrika Reich by Guy Saville, Burton Cole is one of the few survivors of what is called the "Dunkirk Massacre." He, along with his crew, are dispatched to Nazi-dominated Africa in order to kill Walter Hochburg, the bloodthirsty, yet oddly cultured Governor-General of the German colony of Kongo. Cole has a melange of reasons both personal and impersonal for wanting to kill Hochburg. During the mission, though, something goes wrong, and Cole and his team are forced to flee. Cole and his former Foreign Legion commander and friend, Patrick, find themselves in the middle of Nazi-occupied Africa with no way out but to wade through a sea of Nazi soldiers – leaving blood, dead bodies, and explosions along the way. In addition to following Cole and Patrick's attempt to escape from the Nazis, we also follow Neliah, a charismatic young woman and a mixed-race member of the Angolan resistance with her mind set on her own goals – protecting her sister, defending her country, and avenging her father. As a person of color, Neliah is also at particular risk of forced relocation to Muspel (the Sahara), under Nazi policy.

The Afrika Reich is been meticulously researched, which raises it a significant cut above the average airport thriller. In addition, the seamlessness of the alternate history is remarkable, especially given that the book does not rely on long swaths of exposition, but allows the reader (who Saville clearly imagines as being reasonably well-versed in various aspects of European history and culture) to complete that history from events shown, rather than told. One example is the way Saville extends and expands on the Nazi mythos, and how that manifests in the vocabulary (using 'Germania' for Berlin) scattered throughout. Clearly taking some inspiration from better action-thriller movies, the pace moves at adrenaline-fueled speed as Cole, Patrick and Neliah fight their way from calamity to disaster to explosion at breakneck speed. Though the pacing is overwhelming in places, in general, it generates tension and a feeling of being on the edge of the seat.

This book clearly wants to blend the cerebral and philosophical with the physicality of an action-adventure. This is a tall order to handle and it is little surprise that the book makes this blend in a less-than-seamless manner. The combination of contemplation (Patrick and Cole's individual motivations for taking the job) and nonstop action (the escape from Africa) seems just a touch forced. However, The Afrika Reich is a surprisingly philosophical and undeniably action-filled read. I look forward to reading the two planned sequels.

Reviewed by Heather A Phillips

This review was originally published in March 2013, and has been updated for the January 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Dunkirk Evacuation

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.