BookBrowse Reviews The Afrika Reich by Guy Saville

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Afrika Reich

by Guy Saville

The Afrika Reich
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2013, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2015, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Heather A Phillips

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

In the action-packed The Afrika Reich, Guy Saville imagines an alternate history in which the Battle of Dunkirk was lost to the Nazis.

History has many turning points, some so subtle as to be unnoticeable, others so clear as to be signposts around which the march through time pivots. The Battle of Dunkirk is one of these points. Had it gone another way, the Allies would have never coalesced into an anti-Axis alliance, and World War II would have been over – and had a very different outcome – before it really even started. Works of alternate history explore these world events and impress upon us how important they have been. They allow us to see such turning points in a new light, and help us understand that there are times and places upon which the course of history really does depend.

In The Afrika Reich by Guy Saville, Burton Cole is one of the few survivors of what is called the "Dunkirk Massacre." He, along with his crew, are dispatched to Nazi-dominated Africa in order to kill Walter Hochburg, the...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Dunkirk Evacuation

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.