BookBrowse Reviews Small Damages by Beth Kephart

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Small Damages

by Beth Kephart

Small Damages by Beth Kephart X
Small Damages by Beth Kephart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2013, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A young woman discovers new relationships in vibrant Seville

I have never been to Spain. I have never stayed on a bull ranch just outside of Seville, where the heat beats down on the olive groves, and the smell of saffron permeates the thick atmosphere. I have never breathed in the air there, "which smells like fruit and sun and the color blue."

But after reading Small Damages I feel like I have.

A small disclaimer here: I am obsessed with landscape. I am deeply fascinated by the way place helps shape the people who live there; how the smells and sounds and tactile details of place can influence them; how the stories embedded in the dirt, inside the trunk of a tree, and settled at the bottom of a river can nurture them. In fiction, a vividly drawn landscape can ground the reader. It can help the reader rest comfortably inside the story because she knows – by way of her senses – where she is. Beth Kephart is a master at this. She creates landscape in a glorious way. With lyrical prose that rings unique and familiar all at the same time, she opens the reader's ears, eyes, nose and skin – she transports the reader smack into the middle of the world she has created. I have recently learned that Beth considers landscape an actual character in her stories, and I was not surprised to hear this. As I got deeper and deeper into Small Damages, I felt just as much of a connection with Spain as I did with Kenzie, Estela and Esteban, the central characters in the story.

And what about those three? What about Kenzie, Estela and Esteban?

Beth creates them, too, in a glorious way. A pregnant Kenzie is forced by her mother to live at the ranch in Seville until she gives birth to her baby, who will then be adopted by a Spanish couple. Estela, the "old cook" is given the responsibility of taking care of Kenzie, the "stubborn American," and the two lock horns as they work together in the kitchen. Esteban is the horse wrangler on the ranch, and although he and Kenzie do not have the same kind of conflict, they are distant with one another. Slowly, slowly though, Kenzie begins to accept and appreciate both Estela and Esteban, and they, in turn, do the same with her.

And here, in my opinion, is where Kephart's skill and intuition are utterly breathtaking. These relationships build and grow at a measured, deliberate pace, which mirrors Spain's energy perfectly. The heavy, logy heat; the occasional dramatic flash of a storm; the meticulous process of chopping and mixing and frying a meal; the ebb and flow of gypsy music hanging in the air – all these parallel the organic, tender and real ways Kenzie, Estela and Esteban come to know and love one another.

The alchemy between the landscape and the characters is magical. Truly. I finished Small Damages feeling both like I needed to visit Spain and had visited Spain all at the same time. And I certainly felt like I had come to know and love Kenzie, Estela and Esteban almost as much as they had one other.

I highly recommend this story to both young adult and adult readers.

Other Books Set in Seville
A handful of other novels have been set in Seville, including The Blind Man of Seville by Robert Wilson, Digital Fortress by Dan Brown, The Seville Communion by Arturo Peréz-Reverte, and The Orange Girl by Jostein Gaarder.

Reviewed by Tamara Smith

This review was originally published in August 2012, and has been updated for the July 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  A Visit to Seville

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.