BookBrowse Reviews The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

A Novel

by Rachel Joyce

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce X
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2013, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A middle-aged man's path to self-discovery

With 24 out of 25 reviewers rating it 4 or 5 stars,The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is a hit with BookBrowse readers! Here's what they have to say:

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry is an inspiring story and one that will not be forgotten for a long time (Linda M). If anyone were to pitch the idea that walking an excess of 600 miles would give hope to an ailing friend in hospice, how many of us would have the courage to do so? Harold embarks on a journey that takes him not only to his destination but into the realms of memory that have isolated him from the outside world (Marjorie C). The book is uplifting, spiritual, emotional and sad. It is a great novel (Colleen L). I loved this book, not only for the storyline but also because it caused me to reconsider my own life journey and what truly matters in the end (Patricia E).

Many readers loved the book's message:

This book had a profound impact on me. Harold has much to teach the reader along his pilgrimage - about life and love and regrets (Nancy C). This novel is the epitome of the expression "stop and smell the roses." Harold's pilgrimage is reflective, heartbreaking, and most of all about hope and faith (Pam L). The greater truth hidden inside this novel, is that at some point in each of our lives, we have to flip the mirror back onto ourselves and see the true image that reflects back. (Marjorie C).

A couple of readers found the novel a little slow to start:

I found it to be slow-moving and predictable in terms of the human revelations but did enjoy the sense of mystery that made me wonder what had happened earlier on amongst the characters (Gerald R). I got bogged down halfway through, but couldn't put the book down for the second half (Jill M).

While some others found the pace to their advantage:

The lovely steady pace of this novel leaves time for musing about its themes - forgiveness, redemption and the rekindling of old love (Dee H). I wondered how the author would be able to sustain the story - step after step, what could be of interest? I found myself drawn into the depths of this ordinary man who decides one day to do an extraordinary thing. And in doing so he finds himself and reclaims his life (Joan N).

And yet others read it in one sitting!

I read it straight through in one sitting. I could no more put it down than Harold Fry could stop walking his unlikely pilgrimage (Mary M). Be prepared to start the book in the morning when you know you have all day to read because once you start, you will not want to stop (Colleen L).

Who will like this book:

Anyone who liked Major Pettigrew's Last Stand will surely enjoy this subtle novel about failed relationships, past regrets and seemingly bleak futures (Wendy E). I never would have guessed that a book about an elderly man, Harold, who walks over six hundred miles, would be so intriguing and enlightening. I will be using this book as my pick for our monthly book club, and I believe it will lead to a fascinating discussion (Rosemary S). I recommend this for book clubs, as many interesting questions are raised about why Harold embarked upon his "unlikely pilgrimage" (Deborah C).

This review was originally published in August 2012, and has been updated for the March 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.